I can’t wait for fall

I like that the weather has changed from the 90+ degree sunny inferno we had last week. It’s only around 70 degrees today and cloudy–it might even rain! I wish it’d rain really, really hard because that never fails to make all of the mundane and ordinary events in a day seem more interesting. Plus it builds community to have something concrete to complain about.

As far as I can tell (given my true lack of omniscience and astounding capacity for indifference) things are fine. Jan (the kitty-kitty that the vet thought might die) is doing considerably better after 3-4 days on an IV, lots of antibiotics and some force-feeding. When she came back on Saturday night (after being gone since Wednesday morning) she began eating and drinking on her own and purring and everything. They still don’t know exactly what was wrong with her I guess, though it was probably a combination of things that affected her so severely. She has been eating kindof frequently, and it makes her look a little weird because she’s severely underweight (bones sticking out all over the place–she got tapeworm medication on Monday) but has a big belly after she’s finished gorging on delicious kibble. She even managed to enjoy some catnip last night, and overall her mood is much improved. The other cat, Nathan, is doing alright. He’s a big ol’ boy, weighing 12.2 lbs–almost twice as much as Jan, who weighs 6-ish.

 Work has been okay, and busy enough to keep me occupied for the most part. Yesterday I spent 6 or 7 hours doing filing, data entry and mailing things out. It’s the kind of thing that isn’t particularly strenuous but gets REALLY tiring after a little while. I do like the job though and am happy that I’ve been given different kinds of responsibilities in the past month or so. One is mailing out reminder post cards to people that have annual park passes that are about to expire. Sounds boring, and sometimes it is, but yeah. Yesterday I was walking along a path to one of the buildings at the park and saw a big ol’ raccoon staring at me. I could only think about how it might have rabies or brain-worms, and tried to imagine what I might do if it ran toward me and latched onto my leg (or face!). I’m glad that didn’t happen because I would have been at a loss. I don’t think punching it in the ribs would have gotten the job done.

Things with Tom are good, though he hasn’t been feeling well lately and can be a bit irritable at times. He hasn’t been feeling well for awhile now thanks to a past medical condition he had that he wasn’t able to get treated because of a lack of health insurance. I know how that is! I don’t have health insurance either, and haven’t for the past 10-11 months. Paul cringes every time I tell him this, and I agree… it’s just expensive, though it would definitely be worth it if something happened. ::sigh::

I had a dream last night that I was drinking some kind of mudslide alcoholic drink that had thick, stringy balls of mold in it. Umm… yeah. That’s enough about that.

Anyway, time to get back to doin’ my thang.

Log in to write a note
July 2, 2009

AMEN on the weather! I live in Indiana too–thank goodness it’s cooled off a bit! Sorry to hear about the sick kitty, but glad s/he is getting better!

July 3, 2009

I think each season has its merits, but fall and spring are the obvious choices because of their mild temperatures. However, I somehow enjoy a hot and sweaty long day at work, and I also enjoy the winter days when it’s too cold to do anything so I sit inside my warm house and play Realms of Kaos on my computer. 🙂

July 3, 2009

The weather’s been NUTS, eh? I’m so glad to hear that Jen is looking better. Punching a raccoon in the ribs… somehow that’s just a comical thought. Not that being attacked by a rabid coon is any laughing matter. Note to self, look up how to deal with that sort of thing. I’m sorry Tom’s not feeling well. And I too understand the insurance thing. Universal healthcare anyone?

heyya hehe i have that problem with a kitten out of our litter witch we mangaged to sort out x