Old. Plus (big) pics.

Note: This is, obviously, an entry I wrote awhile ago and never posted. So…. yeah. I’ll update with something more recent later!

 

Happy 5th of July! I hope everyone saw lots of beautiful fireworks and aren’t still in pain from all the crazy loud noises. I thought about going to Auburn last night to accompany my mom and sister to see some fireworks, but I ended up eating nachos and watching Mystery Science Theater 3000 instead. The only fireworks I saw were ones that happened to be in the distance while I was outside, and for a moment I was sad as I thought about how the holiday was a pretty big event for me when I was little. It’s sad to think that I’ll never be young again, as depressing as that sounds. Anyway, enough of that unconstructive train of thought.
 
Today while working at the park some kids/teenagers brought a snake in that they "found" (probably chased and caught), and asked me what kind of snake it was. I said I didn’t know because I don’t know junk about snakes. They then asked if it was poisonous, and I told them I don’t know junk about snakes. Then they asked if we could keep it in the building and let it live here. I said no and they kept asking why, and by this point I was getting a little annoyed. They had the snake in a net and I told them to go out into the woods and let it go, and they said something like, "Oh, you can’t keep it but you want us to?" It basically didn’t make sense and they left before I could say anything else. In my opinion it was a dumb interaction.
 
I really can’t believe it’s July already. I can’t believe that a year ago I was living in San Jose organizing tree plantings, running around the city schmoozing with the community and obtaining tree planting permits for homeowners, and listening to co-workers complain. I did lots of complaining myself, and I realize that you can find something to complain about no matter what your situation is. It all seems like forever ago, but at the same time it’s hard to come to terms with the fact that it’s been so long.
 
Well, I don’t have much (aside from probably depressing trains of thought) to write about, so I’ll include some pictures I finally took of the catty-cats. Jan is the gray one and Nathan is the not gray one, FYI. Jan also has a little drop of milk on her chin in some of these, so don’t get creeped out:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2009

the last pic is my fave 🙂

July 17, 2009

Aww, kitties! Jan looks a bit drugged out in that last one 🙂

July 17, 2009

cute cats! These pics totally make me want one.

July 18, 2009

That WAS a dumb interaction about the snake. Hrmph. LOVE the kitty pictures! And yeah, I second ahirumoo’s emotion…