Barb

 one of my ladies died today. I’ve looked after her since she was first diagnosed with leukaemia, way back when I was a student.

 
her husband hugged me and thanked me for all we’d done, and said we’d been her comfort blanket throughout her illness, which I thought was an incredibly touching thing to say.  I shed a tear, i’m not going to lie.  it reminds me why I do my job. It never crossed my mind to become a nurse so that people could thank me, and it always amazes me, that in people’s darkest moments, they are still so absolutely grateful for what you’ve done for their relative.
 
I’ve said it before, we are a family on our ward, the staff, the patients, their relatives.  we have our patients for years, we get to know the ins and outs of their lives, and they know ours.  I know you’re supposed to stay detached, and not become emotionally involved, but i’ll never understand how you can nurse someone and be detached.
 
as the father of my young woman said, she’s been in hospital for two weeks and already the nursing staff are like family.  he said you can tell how much people really care, and I know I for one will never be anything but proud of that, especially when it’s evident to the people you’re looking after and those who love them.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with shedding a tear, with hugging someone, holding their hand. if you can’t feel you can’t nurse, it’s as simple as that to me.
 
empathy and compassion are really the only things that matter.  they’re the things people remember.
 
all I can do is count my blessings that my family and friends are happy and healthy this Christmas time, and after working tonight I can collect my sister from her boyfriend’s house and come home to spend Christmas with my family.
 
xx

Log in to write a note