Christmas Eve

So I’m working tonight. I went to see john before I came to work, at his uncle’s house, so caught up with his mum and his uncle too. Was a bit of a misery on the quiet, I’d had a terrible night in work last night, one of my long time patients had died, I’ve worked 75 hours this week, a days/nights combo, and feel guilty cos I haven’t had half as much time to squeeze everyone in as I’d have liked.

John and I had been messaging back and forth a little, I only have 7 patients tonight compared to the usual 11 on a night shift, and other than one poorly lady, they’re all quite stable.

He text me at midnight to ask me if I was busy or if I could step off the ward for a minute. I immediately asked him if he was here or if it was a joke, and he sent me a little smiley face. So I stepped off the ward and there he was with a lovely bunch of flowers with all sparkly bits in, and a bag with a present in.

I sent him home with the flowers, patients aren’t allowed them on the ward so we have no vases and I didn’t want them to die before I could take them home and show them off! I’ve just opened the presents on my break and he’d put a box of chocs and a framed photo of us pulling silly faces when we were in hamburg.

Honestly, it’s like something out of a movie. People just don’t do romantic things like that for me! I can’t wipe the smile off my face, and I know my eyes are all shiny and sparkly when I think about it!

I’m telling you now, the boy is setting the bar high, this being our first Christmas together and all.

Love him to bits!

Xx

Log in to write a note
December 24, 2013

Random note: Merry Christmas.