One of these nights

Funny that the theme for week thirty two is advice to teenage self (on OD). My high school reunion started yesterday and is ending today. It was easy not to go to the previous ones, it would have been an expensive plane ticket. Now it’s damn near walking distance. And there’s a few people showing up that I’d like to see. However, my head isn’t working right, physically, and fuck, I don’t know. I guess I have seven hours to decide. My head hasn’t been right for over a month now, so, I don’t see it righting itself in seven hours. Was hoping the migraine neurologist would fix it. He didn’t.

 

I don’t want to make small talk with people I barely knew and some of the talk I want to make with the very few friends that are going is kind of dark (e.g. What the fuck happened, man?). Of the two girls, um, grown ass women, going that I had a crush on, I’m dating the one and the other I had crush on in like third grade. What do people do at those things? Talk about kids, grandkids, professions? I don’t talk to strangers about any of that shit, for paranoid reasons, but, I believe, justifiably paranoid. Also, I didn’t graduate or even go to my senior year. I have no idea why they keep inviting me. I didn’t do that whole senior thing that, I guess, bonds people together. Other friends of mine who didn’t graduate aren’t invited.

 

I guess somehow a photo of me wound up in the yearbook, so, maybe that’s why. Like they didn’t remember seeing me at graduation, but … I did hitch-hike back from West Springfield in record time to see the graduation, but, I went to the high school and the graduation was held at the university. I think I got drunk instead. I had been on the road for a while, someone might have told me where it was if I were in town. Hmmm, maybe not West Springfield, maybe Tampa. I found myself in the middle of a bar fight and left with a bikers leather jacket. Why? I have no fucking idea.

 

The friends that aren’t invited I’ve sort of kept in touch with. Every ten years I get a wild hair and search for their online presence. Every other decade they search for me. One of my very old friends is going and one is not. I mean friends from elementary school. In high school we drifted apart. Shit, no, not really. The one guy was tripping his balls off and told his parents and he was kept on a short leash, the other, his father died after a two year fight with brain cancer and he kind of shrunk up inside and I wasn’t able to console him. Like me the tripper is on the maybe list. Last I knew he was working for Coca-Cola in Detroit. That was almost forty years ago.

 

Also, this is going to be part of the play list;

I’M NOT IN LOVE, 10cc, Mercury (peaked at 3)

LISTEN TO WHAT THE MAN SAID, Wings, Capitol, (peaked at 1)

LOVE WILL KEEP US TOGETHER, The Captain and Tennille, A&M (peaked at 1)

LOVE WON’T LET ME WAIT, Major Harris, Atlantic (peaked at 5)

MAGIC, Pilot, EMI (peaked at 5)

ONE OF THESE NIGHTS, Eagles, Asylum (peaked at 4)

PLEASE MR. PLEASE, Olivia Newton-John, MCA (peaked at 4)

THE HUSTLE, Van McCoy and the Soul City Symphony, Avco (peaked at 1)

WILDFIRE, Michael Murphey, Epic (peaked at 3)

 

 

You ever notice how with seventies music revivals it’s usually 75 and below? Yeah. It’s why America was ready for the fucking sex pistols. I did own one of these nights, the album, but like in seventy- five. I was disappointed.

 

Shit. I don’t know.

Log in to write a note
September 22, 2018

I graduated from high school in 1976, the bicentennial year.  The only reunion I attended was the 10 year reunion.  I’ve had absolutely no desire to attend a reunion again.  Truly, I was only with those people for four years.  Four years!  That’s nothing.  I’ve lost contact with every single person from high school.  Hmmmmm ….  I think I’m off to Facebook to see if I can locate anyone.  I won’t make contact, just see what they look like and what they are up to.

September 22, 2018

@wildrose_2 Heh, that’s what I was doing.

September 22, 2018

I didn’t go to my ten year and I have no intention of going to any of the others. The way I think of it is that I didn’t care for most of those people back then, I don’t care about their FB posts (they all friended me), so I don’t really care to chat with them now in person. If I really want to know, I’ll check FB. Otherwise, I don’t care enough to make small talk with any of them. There are a couple that are tolerable now that they’ve grown up, but I still don’t have much interest in chatting. Besides, tolerable on their own in one thing. I imagine they aren’t as tolerable when you get them around their old crew.

September 22, 2018

@silverearth Yeah, I didn’t hang with anyone from my class, at least not when we were in high school. I can’t even remember not liking anyone in particular.

September 27, 2018

One of these crazy old nights…

Did you end up going?

September 27, 2018

@chaoticaugust No, I didn’t. My head was killing me.