Dear Baby Bean #1

One of my goals is to write a weekly letter to my baby for the next 2.75 years, so I’m going to start right now. This is letter #1.

Normal
0

false
false
false

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

Dear Baby Bean,

We’re 18 weeks and 1 day along right now, almost halfway through the average pregnancy. Now you should be straightening your legs and doing lots of stretching. And considering how much more often I’m feeling your flutters, I think you’re doing a lot of wiggling around.

You seem to be operating on the same schedule as me. You’re more active in the late morning and early afternoon, then again in the evening. And you love sweet, tart fruits. I’ve craved fruit more than anything else since I got pregnant, and if I could live on nothing but fruit, I probably would. You’re not a big fan of chicken.

I have to admit to you how scared I am. Not of being your mommy, but of not being your mommy. I worry that something will happen because you finally being here, being real, is just too good to be true. It’s something I’ve wanted for so long that it’s hard to believe I’m actually getting it.

 In just a couple weeks, we’ll be seeing you on the ultrasound again and finding out if you’ll be a Pippa or a Hunter. If you’re a boy, your name will be Hunter Thompson. You’ll be named after the writer. He was a little crazy, but he was insightful and unbelievably talented. If you’re a girl, we think your name will be Pippa MacKenzie. Daddy and I haven’t had an easy time picking out a girl’s name. The first time I heard the name Pippa was in the book A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. It’s also the name of Duchess Catherine’s sister, although her full name is Phillipa. I think Pippa is spunky and cute and it means “lover of horses.” So it definitely suits any daughter of mine. Your middle name, MacKenzie, is a family name on my mother’s side.

So you’re either Hunter or Pippa. Only you know for sure right now.

Love,

Mommy

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2011

one million cool points for the boy name.

October 3, 2011

Aww, that’s so sweet! I think I may have to do this when I (eventually) have children! ~*Stephanie*~

October 4, 2011

Such a good idea, and I love the names you’ve chosen!

October 4, 2011

gonna watch it now, hope you meant it as a complement 🙂

(((HUGGS)))

Aww that’s so cute and I love both the names you picked out.