October

Welcome to October. It’s officially autumn now and it was still 85 yesterday. This state just has no idea what it’s doing. As is often attributed to Mark Twain, "If you don’t like the weather in New England, wait a minute." Clearly Mr. Clemens had never been to Colorado when he said that. (Actually, he didn’t say quite that, but he did have a great deal of respect for New England weather.)

Obviously, I’m really tired of the summery weather. I love autumn, so the continued high temperatures just irritate me.

October is looking like it’s going to be a big month. We have a squadron-wide FRG meeting on Thursday. I’m really not looking forward to it, mostly because it’s at McMahon Theater, which was built around 1958 and is not only ugly, but also colossally uncomfortable. I’m not sure who they designed the seats for, because they’re even a tight fit for Alan. I can’t imagine women in full swingy skirts sitting in them at all comfortably. Plus FRG meetings tend toward the boring side. The last squadron-wide meeting I spent reading.

On the 21st we have my anatomy scan and next prenatal appointment. We’ll finally get to find out the gender! ::squee!:: I hope it will make all this feel more real to me. Right now it just doesn’t. My belly looks bigger, but it mostly just looks like I got fatter. I have had to start closing the button on my jeans with hair ties, though, so hopefully it looks more like a baby bump soon. I haven’t gained much weight, which is a good thing. I’ve also started feeling more flutters of movement, which is exciting.

Honestly, we tried for so long that I’ve been terrified that something will go wrong. I’m terrified to get my hopes up only to have them crushed. So not being obviously pregnant has been a mixed blessing at best. I’m hoping I’ll feel more assured at my next appointment. I think finding out the gender will help. The stupid thing is that this has been an absolutely 100% normal, run-of-the-mill pregnancy. I have absolutely NO reason to think that anything will go wrong. But I still do. ::sigh::

On the plus side, we may have actually agreed on a girl’s name. Pippa MacKenzie seems to have stuck. LOL… I like it. It’s spunky.

Alan will also be leaving at the end of the month for Louisiana and he’ll be gone until almost Thanksgiving. So that sucks, except that I’ll have the car to myself so I don’t have to get up 4:30 AM just because I have an appointment or something.

It’s been a pretty uneventful weekend. Alan had Friday off and he was indulgent enough to take me for a drive in the mountains. And we drove. We went up past Wilkerson Pass and ended up on this strange plateau. Coming down from the pass you could see for miles. Even Kansas was more topographically interesting. We did see some elk and antelope on the drive though. The elk weren’t quite as interested in being around people as the ones in Estes Park (you could get within touching distance, could touch even if you don’t mind then getting chased by an elk), but I’d never seen antelope before, so that was exciting.

We tried out the new grill and Alan showed me how to hook up the little propane bottles (it’s a camping grill so it doesn’t use the big ones). I also made cinnamon rolls, which Alan has now taken into work. Hopefully they kept well enough overnight that they’re still tasty. I finally found a maternity coat too. It’s not up to my usual winter coat standards, being only a wool blend, but I got a fleece too and order the coat a size larger so I can layers. The two together were about $109 with free shipping and I know I’ll get tons of use out of the fleece. Even in the winter the weather can be unpredictably warm here.

I haven’t got much on mind. Or maybe too much to focus on anything specific. I’ve been super flaky. Also constantly hungry. So constantly hungry that I’m tired of eating. I just can’t be bothered! Anyway, I have to do laundry and at some point my hair also needs washing. Ugh. I’m so exhausted lately!

~Liz

Log in to write a note
October 3, 2011

Though I’ve never been pregnant, I can’t imagine not worrying about it for the entire 40 weeks. I’m a worrier, and I’d be without my anxiety meds. I fear a pregnant me. I love the girl’s name 🙂

October 3, 2011

Wait a minute, there’s a NEW England now? (again)

October 3, 2011

The weather here FINALLY got cold a day or two ago. I’m thoroughly enjoying it! Hope it gets cooler soon. Although I, personally, wouldn’t name my daughter that, Pippa MacKenzie is, indeed, very cute and spunky. I like it! I can’t wait to find out the gender! *squee!* *hugs* ~*Stephanie*~

October 5, 2011

What a good girl’s name! 🙂 I need to get a good coat(s) for myself for Seattle. :-p And I would worry my entire pregnancy too. :-p *FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE FIERCE LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING LOVING HUGS*