Hot Time in the Ol’ Town Tonight

Big to do in Milford today. Massive fire broke out at the Milford Fabricating Company around 9 this morning. Four alarm deal. They even had to call in help from neighboring towns.

Oh. And did I mention that Milford Fabricating Company is about 6 houses down from us? Yikes!

Actually, they take up a good chunk of the block that would lie between our street and the next one down on Route 1 if it actually were a "block." In simpler terms, they take up a lot of space. It was a very big fire. Route 1 was shut down when he tried to come home from exploring this afternoon and they’d apparently evacuated the neighborhood. Upon hearing that little tidbit, I was naturally overcome with guilt and anxiety that something could have happened to our kitties while we were out of the house.  Of course, thank goodness it rained quite a lot over the last few days or we would’ve been in some serious trouble.  Last Friday we actually had a fire conditions warning to remind people not to throw their cigarette butts out the window and such. Really, if you simply must have a massive industrial fire, there’s no better time to do it than after a good soaking wet weekend.

As may be obvious given that my first words were not "OHMYGOD! MY HOUSE BURNED DOWN!" we are all fine and safe. Most of the damage was to their building on the next street. Fire crews are still over there combing through to douse any smoldering bits and the street’s closed off.  Granted, I probably still won’t sleep very securely. I was always that kid in school who cried during Fire Safety Week because she kept imagining that her house would catch fire in the middle of the night. I’m not even kidding either. Having to teach Stop, Drop, and Roll to my preschoolers last year was excruciating. And all this even though I KNOW the smoke detectors are loud enough to wake me up, even when they aren’t in the same room (one of my paranoid fears as a child). I even considered setting up the cat carrier so that we could hustle them out in case anything happened in the middle of the night.

::deepbreath:: I KNOW I’m being paranoid. Just keep in mind that for me, paranoia is not a sympton. It’s part of my basic personality.

Anyway, off to (try to) forget about it with some light comedy.

~Liz

(And yes, work still blows goats for quarters)

Log in to write a note
March 31, 2009

Lol. Blows goats for quarters? Must not be very good blowjobs for those goats then. 😉 And I’m glad that you’re okay as is your hubby and kitties and housey and all that fun stuff. And I hope they all stay that way FOREVER. <3 *HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGE HUGS*

March 31, 2009

I’m glad you are ok! It’s very scary when stuff like that happens.

April 1, 2009

Wow. But you’re right – this was the best possible time for a fire to burn, if it were to at all. I’m glad that you, the kitties, AND your apartment/belongings are all safe. But it is very scary. I can understand. *huge hugs* ~*Stephanie*~

I didn’t even hear about the fire! Of course, I’m kinda out of touch with the majority of life outside of mine! Is hubby going to try to snap some pictures of it??