July 28, 1992

8:47 am (canadian time)

I wrote c.t., because it’s atlantic time over across the border and they an hour ahead of us – it’s 7:47 am back in Dexter. Whew! and I’ve been up for an hour and 1/2. Well, my first night camping. I-yi-yi. We set up camp last night on the top of a hill over-looking the bay (Kevin says he thinks it’s the bay of Fundy.) Kevin says that there are no like, bears and deer up here, because there is a dirt (causeway) with water on either side, and it’s the only way to get here. I was SO excited about this trip, and last night, I was scared shitless! Every little noise had me jumping out of my skin. Finally, Kevin suggested we sleep in the car. Coward’s way – so I stayed in the tent to try and overcome my fear. We made love, and (it was beautiful) afterwards, I layed a wake for a little while listening and watching the wind blow the window shades around, and soon I fell asleep. I only woke up once during the night, and that was only to switch positions. I know now that I won’t die sleeping in a tent, so tonight should be a little easier. This morning Kevin and  I took a walk on the island, and I saw 2 crabs. (One crawled around my foot and scared the poop out of me.) The tides out here are incredible, they keep rising every second – Kevin says they are the fastest tides in the world. So far the only complaint I have is I don’t have a way to wash my hair. (Today we are buying a bucket so we can have spring water from down below, for hair and bodie washing.) It’s absolutely gorgeous up here, and peaceful – the only camps are within yelling distance. Kevin is out cooking sausage on our "hibatchi" for breakfast. That and Pepsi. and he just roasted me a marshmallow. Mmm…..(Well, until later.) Hopefully the sun will shine. Last night was SO cold, and today is rainy and misty (we ARE on the ocean, Amy.)

Kevin and I are getting married in February. Valentine’s Day. (Only we’re planning to elope, so we’re not telling anyone.) Instead of him buying me a diamond, we’re buying a set. (That way I GET my diamond, but I asked him.) 6 months left!

Log in to write a note