…And Starvation

 Something else that bothers me…  I am troubled about the
whole Terry Schiavo thing.  Of course, I am terribly troubled that
she was basically dehydrated to death.  My family already knows
(as I mentioned) that I would want the feeding tube pulled.  I,
personally, would not want to live that way.  But I would not want
to die of thirst.

Others have mentioned Terry being starved to death and people are in an
uproar about that.  It is terrible and the country is divided
about this (as they have been about so many things… just look at this
last election).  But did anybody notice in the news today (or
maybe it was yesterday) that the rate of children who are suffering
malnutrition and starving to death in Iraq has increased since we
invaded.  I don’t remember the exact statistic, but it has grown
significantly since we started the war. 

It feels sort of hypocritical for our country to be so up in arms about
one woman’s feeding tube when many otherwise healthy children are dying
of hunger due to our invasion of their country.  I realize many
children were going hungry over there before we invaded, but now even
more are starving to death.  That makes me feel distinctly
uncomfortable… even, well… evil.

Log in to write a note

I guess being part of this society does make us evil. We are fat self abosrbed pigs if you really look at it. Fat with the pleasures our society has to offer us. Too much self love! Even with all the footage and information we get, we still have no idea of the pains and sufferings the many children and adults in the world. Its horrible!

Yes, exactly who is the center of the axis of evil these days? And why aren’t we doing something about it?

WE meaning “we the people”

you’re right our society is based on themselves… we need to do something, if we can.

April 1, 2005

I have said it before, if it is not befitting to some then it is not worth the cause to all. Unfortunately, all of this will be lost in the next big news story.I think that it is sad that we do not deal directly with the tragedy every day. If we do not want to see it, we simply change the channel.

RYN – We follow Christ’s example on what he did the night of his arrest….. which was on the Passover. He spent the Passover with the Apostles…he broke the bread and sopke of the wine and its significance… telling us to do this in rememberance of Him. We do so once a year on Passover, We eat the bread, drink the wine and wash each others feet.

RYN: I’ve started reading it…. almost a To Kill A Mockingbird flavor The book I mention has a couple of chapters on overcoming effects of abuse… I’m not there yet so I can’t say if it’s useful or not.

April 2, 2005

i have a queston to u, why does death hapen?

April 3, 2005

RYN: oh u neednt feel sad abt me losing my “space” – it was difficult for a while, but ive persuaded my sisters to clean out & redecorate the whole room as soon as the summer vacation starts, i believe we will!! thx for ur notes đŸ™‚

April 3, 2005

im glad i am coming across more and more ppl like urself.. obviously ur not guilty, but i understand its difficult to live in a society where such evils exist.

April 3, 2005

it hurts, because i live so close to these poor starved ppl who have no fault and no idea why all this is happening to them. and thru this i live here in comfort just getting shocks every now and then at the amount of evil that exists in the world! :'(