Giving it another try…

Every month I see the charge for this come up and I get mad at myself for not writing. I am determined to give this another try. One of the reasons I’ve been bad about it is because I get in here and start reading everybody else’s diaries. I have decided I need to just concentrate on writing in my own, as antisocial as that may seem. It takes hours if I go off on a reading tangent.  There are so many things that suck away my time. Work has been really busy, my third novel is being released next week and I have another one I have to finish putting in the template for the publisher and yet another to finish working on. I am homeschooling my grandkids 1-2 days a week, plus just all round housework. I just can’t spend hours each time I come in here but I really want to keep up my diary. So be it.

I had an eventful summer. I was blessed to get three vacations away. The first I took with my oldest daughter. We flew to Maryland to visit with my brother. We went on a fishing boat out there and had some fun, also got to eat at a lot of wonderful places. He’s really into that. My daughter and I did a lot of walking around the island on which he lives. We had a great and relaxing time, short as it was. It was really fun. The second vacation I took was with my middle daughter, her family, and my brother. We flew to Utah then drove up to Wyoming, stopping for a night of family glamping which was super cool, then we drove to Jackson, Wyoming, and took a wild rafting trip which was supposed to not be so wild but we got caught in a crazy hailstorm out on the water before the trip was over. We also took a “Wildlife Safari” the next morning by van and drove through some beautiful places in the Tetons. Again, short but lovely. Finally, my third trip was with my third child (my son), his wife, and my husband. We met up with my son’s inlaws in California and went to Universal for a VIP tour which was terrific, then two days in Disneyland which was fun but tiring. We came home with Covid, however, which was not so much fun as it was the first time we caught it. I’m still sort of overly fatigued from it, but finally getting better.

Things are only now beginning to settle back into normal. I loved the fun of all those events but am grateful to be back to a more normal pace now. It got just a little too nuts for me by the time I was home with Covid. It definitely took away a lot of my travel bug. 😉 Now, I’m back to work, back to working on books, back to homeschooling, and trying to just get back to everything like it was before.

We did, however, join a new church. We had been going to the old one for the last nine years. It just seemed, though, like it focuses on younger people there, which is fine and we understand that but we wanted to go someplace that was quite so mega and also had things for people our age or older. Of course, the new church we joined has mostly people older than us. A couple of the ladies there went to the church we were going to a decade ago and it was all older people, but this one is very small and we feel really comfortable and happy there right now. Good sermons too.

Log in to write a note
October 5, 2022

Welcome back. I found too that I would sometimes come here intent to write but then waste my time reading and commenting.  Now I write first then read.

I’m not far from Maryland and the island life down there is so intriguing. I visited Tangier where they have their own accent reminiscent of older English. I also love assateague island with the wild ponies.