Missing My Husband – Solo Oscar Watching

My husband called me at 3am to tell me he made it safely to Amsterdam. He and the boys were anxiously awaiting the other folks on the tour to get their checked luggage (our guys only brought carry-on). The flight was good (I guess) at least he had no complaints. He seemed happy and excited.

He called again at about 7am (our time) to tell me they were on a tour bus in downtown Amsterdam looking at trees and other beautiful sights. He said the weather was beautiful as was everything else. He held up his phone and told everybody else to yell, "Hi, Eryssa!" which they all did. I chuckled drowsily and wished him a great time until I had to get up for church.

My son woke up even sicker than yesterday (in the throes of a nasty case of strep throat). He gargled with the novacaine junk they gave him at the doctor yesterday, took his antibiotic and crashed out on the couch. When I came home from church I didn’t really want to leave him because he took a pain pill to deal with his throat. I called my husband to let him know I wouldn’t be able to pick up his Sunday paper for him. It was 9pm Amsterdam time and the boys were in the hotel room. They still hadn’t slept! and were hanging around having a "nightcap." Giddy and about as happy as you could possibly be he told me they had seen some VanGogh paintings from the 1600s, had had a wonderful dinner, a terrific tour earlier in the day and, of course, a wonderful time in one of the cafes. He said the weather had been quite good. It had snowed a bit while they had been inside buildings but each time they had come out the snow had stopped and the sun was shining. I let him know I had been praying quite a bit that the trip would be very safe and incredibly wonderful for him. All the guys, once again, yelled a collective and quite jolly, "Hello!" to me via the phone. There were lots of guffaws and everybody sounded like they were having a terrific time. They said the hotel is wonderful but that Smokz and Martz had gotten a room with one bed! LOL I told them that they’ll get to know each other quite well that way. I guess they opted to switch rooms instead. 😉

Well, watching the Oscars now. Don’t like brunette on Renee, DO like it on Drew. Glad Morgan got the award. Not too crazy about Chris Rock’s jokes, some seem a little too sharp to me… can’t be quite that cutting in my opinion. I didn’t see some of the movies this year but I saw a few. I did like Million Dollar Baby, was disappointed by Aviator, amused by Sideways but not wowwed. I always love the Oscar fashions but am disappointed that nobody wore anything really outrageous or avant guard this year. There were so many good supporting actresses. I’m a little disappointed that Cate won but I can see why. She did a good impression of Kate Hepburn but it WAS almost like an impression as opposed to acting really… but, what do I know. I think Natalie did more acting but it’s really a toss up. Too many good actresses to really pick one out. What an incredible group to choose from! They’re all so impressive.

Oh well… I’m continuing my solo Oscar party over here LOL. My poor son is watching from the bedroom where he’s lying there miserable although maybe he’s sleeping now. Poor guy has never had such a painful sore throat in his life. I know how he feels, I’ve had a few of those and it’s just miserable. The doctor had me look in there and it looked like someone had installed a red punching bag down by my son’s tonsils.

Well… happy Oscar watching!

Log in to write a note

RYN: Thank you. It’s a daily battle through that and alot of other things. The other entries about it are on fav only. Your diary is pretty. May I add you to my list?

February 27, 2005

i’ve been kind of watching. i agree…renee looks sooooo bad and i thought it looked like she was having trouble walking in that dress on stage! drew looks beautiful!

I missed the Oscars tonight. *sigh* All the glitter and glitz, and I’ll have to see it second-hand on the ‘net. Oh well. Thanks for your note. It was a good conversation with Mom; she’s the greatest. ~

Oh, yes, and I remember Amsterdam! It was during tulip season that we went, and everything was painted in spring colors that dazzled the eyes. I hope your husband has a wonderful time! ~

Strep throat: my boy Florian has just recovered from the very symptoms you describe. Nasty, eh?

February 28, 2005

i had this ideaa in schopol today. do you have a job? if not u should be a counciller!