April 26th, 2018

Welcome to Thursday!

It’s the start of my last 4-day stretch for a while, as our staffing is almost back to (and exceeding) pre-April levels.  This means also that scheduling going forward is somewhat of a concern, because I know what that usually means for part-time staff like myself, and it’s rarely good.  Charon should be around, so I’m scheduled to talk with her about what’s what, and while I’m tense, I’ll see what it amounts to before I panic.

The schedules are posted up on a bulletin board outside of the beverage office and habit leads me to look at it every time I come by. In this case, the schedules were posted for the next two weeks.  I have…. Thursday.  One day.

-sigh-

Well. The bright side of this is it’s at least the one day.  This not being my first time on the scheduling rodeo, I chalk it up to being about what I expected, and resign myself to having free time for a while.  I get my money and go install myself in the Lounge registr.  Within probably 5 minutes of doing so, Charon comes around the corner and inquires if I’ve seen the schedule.  She then adds in that if there’s anything on it that needs changing, to let her know.

I’m pretty sure my eyebrows visibly quirked at that.

I gave her the basic rundown of what I’m ideally looking for.  Preferably two days, possibly three. Ideally solo shifts, etc.  At least one of my weekend days open to enjoy.  She nods and says she’ll take care of it right away.  I’m standing there looking surprised, baffled, some combination of the two I’m sure.  Before long she returns and says that I now have -two- days a week, Sundays and Thursdays, and I’ll have the venue where I’m at to myself.

Well. Alrighty then.  This definitely falls into the bin of things I was -not- expecting to receive, consideration-wise. Charon believes strongly in the idea of seniority, and I basically have it.  So I’ll have the service bar on Thursday nights, which could be all right, and my Lounge shift on Sunday nights. The only drawback of course is that with so many barkeeps on staff, we’ll have two venues attracting customers rather than just the one, which might negatively impact the tips somewhat, but it’s better than only the one shift, by a long mile, so this is good.

The night was honestly otherwise pretty forgettbale, but I was riding around on this whole low-grade high of being respected by my supervisor. It was just really very cool.   I’ll have the service bar both nights over the weekend, with Jerry the Older riding shotgun.  He’s gonna be sore anyway, so that seems a reasonable concession for him.

Let’s see what we can earn for this last long weekend!

 

Closing Observations :

  • Charon just earned herself some major respect points from me. Just…. damn.

 

Next up : Friday

 

Log in to write a note