January 8th, 2021

So.

It’s been a little while. I’m going to attempt to get back into the swing of this, at least for a bit, but it’s probable that the old format will shift and morph a bit. Just a heads-up.

To give you a brief catch-up :

Due to COVID, our establishment shut down for a few months over the summer. We’re back open now, though with slightly different hours than previously. On a positive note, they re-opened smoke-free, which makes the contacts on my eyes so much happier. I’m hoping they keep it that way, because I’m not going to go back to that environment. I can’t.

I also have come to the realizations that :

  • After almost 12 years of this – I think – nay feel strongly- that I’m 100% done with bartending, and I’m out as soon as I can manage it.
  • Bartending, while a decent side gig, is not going to provide for us like it has in the past, with my other pursuits drying up

As such, I returned to college as of fall ‘2020. One semester down, 9 to go. (Kicked ass.  3.85 after the first chunk of classes.)

Okay – so that’s good enough on that for now.

 

Tonight was service bar (unexpectedly). One of our regular barkeeps called in again. I half suspect he may be on the way out if he keeps that up, but he’s lasted this long, so… hopefully all is well.

I’ll just put this bluntly. The people. Dear sweet gods I am so done with the people. From the two guys turning me into a joke to amuse one another (“Hey, keep the change!” … me thanking them because it’s an $11 tip… followed by “Oh, just kidding.”  Go fuck yourself with sandy vaseline… gah.), to the pretty well-comported nearly albino white woman who had the nerve to ask me why a darker skinned guy was allowed to sit at the bar when he wasn’t part of the local indiginous tribe.  I have no words. Stingy, rude, pricks, almost to man, as they phrase was said in days of yore.

The guys who thought it okay to just poke fun at me, as above? They ended up leaving a dollar. I ended up ripping it up and throwing the pieces in the trash. I’ve never done that before in nearly 12 years. That’s how mad I was.

 

And of course – to top it all off – the events at work caused me to lose track of some kinda important personal details too, and so I looked like a complete goober to people I care for on top of everything else.

 

Just… done.

-sigh-

 

Have a good one.

Log in to write a note