Kerstin

I have studied until now. Almost 1 am here. On a Saturday night. No exams in the near future. Obviously I do not have a partner. I do not dislike studying, but there are moments in which I would like to have a girl to spend an evening with. To fall asleep with. To hold hands with. To kiss. To have sensous sex with.

Still, I catch myself thinking about Kerstin. We met in hospital. She suffered from borderline personality disorder. We were roommates. She was a punk. A beautiful punk, dark inside. I remember that she used to listen to German punk and gothic music, and I fell in love with her while she was showing me her CD collection (yes, she had CDs, I did and do so as well). Kerstin was totally self-destructive. We went out several times together, and she brought me to a gay bar, where everybody thought we were together. She was still thinking about her ex girlfriend, with whom she had discontinued contact just a couple of weeks before, after they had broken up, the very day in which the rings they wanted to exchange with each other had been delivered. She did not want a relationship, maybe. But she flirted with me, and so did I with her.

Kerstin became an obsession for me. A negative obsession. The time after we met was not easy. I still was officially together with my ex boyfriend, and I had troubles accepting my homosexuality. At some point, another patient, a coward named Maurice, had the brilliant idea to give Kerstin cocaine. She was alcohol addicted already. She took the drug, and after some time she could not live without. She started taking heroine as well.

I think this was the beginning of the end. She started having many partners, casually, whomever was available was ok. She was hospitalized many times, in many places, and in the end I could not do anything to save her. She did not have a future, and her present was really not worth living.

Sometimes I doubt that she still lives. She was so devoted to her self-destruction that I think she might have reached the goal. She used to perform also small criminal acts such as dealing and stealing.

I could not save her. I was already busy saving myself. The difference between her and me has always been that I wanted to live, while she wanted to waste her life. Still, I would like to have a kiss to remember.

Log in to write a note
April 28, 2018

Thanks to her illness she was on a path to self destruction in my opinion But it could have been better with the right help which it sounds like she didn’t get.I can’t believe another patient gave her drugs. How did they smuggle them in?Thats criminal through and through but I know it can and does happen.She would have had difficulty maintaining relationships. I wonder what her doctors actually did for her -nothing by the sound of it.

April 28, 2018

I just read your note I don’t know yet what the diagnosis is I suspect I am right but I was feeling so upset when I did that test god knows what the result could be !I am withdrawing from that therapistI can only describe the atmosphere in his room last time as ice cold Its wasn’t my imagination -I’m sensitive to atmosphere-he knows that and agrees with that.

I should know more by Tuesday.Today we have flooding -heavy rain and yes a small leak inside thanks to the workmen who climbed over the roof last week when repairing guttering!

BPD is basically as I understand it a self hatred of one self.I wonder what happened in Kerstin’s life earlier.

Something my therapist said last week sent shudders down me I would prefer not to put it out at OD but I can’t forget it -it was so horrible and designed to bring me down. I told my partner and he is equally appalled.

April 29, 2018

Walking away from those who are not good to be around is a huge step, don’t dwell on the past too much, look forward, onwards and upwards 😊