Tattoos and kids

Instead of working at my PhD thesis – and I really ought to – I am surfing the web for tattoo ideas. Annie is not at work today, but she met a dear friend to correct a paper she has to resign next week; this evening, she is meeting her best friend, so that I will have plenty of time to work later. Procrastination and rationalization are becoming my best friends.

I had not planned to get my arms almost totally covered with tattoos, also because with the job I have one is not really encouraged to have them. I cannot show my arms either, anyway; too many scars, both from cutting and burning, so that I prefer tattoos. I want to cover up what I did to myself. If I have to hide my arms, then it will be because i do not want people around me to see my tattoos, not because I do not want them to see my scars.

I feel so unlovable, and so anxious. So many projects, so much anxiety. I am totally blocked. I freeze everytime I feel attacked. I feel so worthless that I never defend myself, not even when I am obviously right. I am not capable of making myself be respected, not even by Annie’s 12-year-old son, who treats me as if I were an idiot. I have somehow the impression that he dislikes me, maybe because he fears I might take her mother away from him – even if I would never. I was never in competition with him or his sister for the love of their mother, and I love them as if they were my own children – even if I never wanted kids. The little one attacks me on a regular basis – well, he raises his voice even with Annie, his grandmother, his sister, and had several problems at school. So… pretty normal he attacks me too. I let him do so. He was diagnosed with ADHD, that increases my patience.

Annie and I are traveling to Lugano for the weekend, and I look forward to spending some time with her alone. We have work to do but I guess we need some good talks and moments to share.

Log in to write a note
February 13, 2024

Go enjoy yourself in Lugano and get a crazy tattoo while you’re on vacation, screw it! My ex used to cut herself and she has scars. I know what you mean by not wanting people to see them but is a tattoo the only other option? It can be hard to tattoo over scar tissue. Good luck with your PhD, that stuff must succckkk hehe

February 13, 2024

@heston Thank you for your kind words. I could try laser on the scars, but I prefer a tattoo 😁 – more creative. And we live only once, so I prefer ink. I need to speak with the tattooist about tattooing on scarred skin, I already have tattoos on scars but the one I want to hide are bigger.
I look forward to reading of yours! You haven’t any entries yet. Take care!

February 13, 2024

@hiddencobra_1 I was once a member here when i was 16 and joined because i saw the girl i liked having a profile on here. That profile is long gone now, cant even find it…. my profile that is, not the girl i was stalking hehe. I wrote a few entries for a few years. I was writing an entry today but haven’t posted it yet.

February 13, 2024

Good luck

I just completed my dissertation

February 13, 2024

The children are a lesson (just as every person you encounter is). They are going to teach you how to deal with disrespect for yourself and Annie. You are going (at the same time) to begin healing the damage your parental units deliberately caused you. It is a good lesson. Annoying in it’s repetitiveness… but all lessons repeat until we learn them. Start seeing where the freezing came from and learn to unplug. See where the lack of boundaries (this has a lot to do with that) came from… and learn to unplug it. The children sound like they are afraid and also as if parental direction and discipline is lacking. This is a good time to start finding help for your new family… you can do it! Enjoy time alone with Annie. I understand tatts… for me, the pain relaxes me… it helps me balance myself out. Smile and take pride in who you are and how far you have come. You’re great!