Without a mother

Today I spent the afternoon with my mother on a shopping spree. This could seem to be a nice way to spend one’s afternoon, but in fact, it is not. My mother has always been a problem, and it is getting worse. She has always isolated me, humiliated me in front of family members or friends, and I grew up with the feeling that whatever I do is wrong. Even my Professors at University noticed it. I had several oral exams, where I was faced with the task of answering questions immediately and showing some competence. I always scored very well. Nevertheless, at the moment of signing the protocol paper, I always felt as if it was impossible that I had passed. On my last exam, my Professor told me straight that he noticed that I was competent and interested in the topic, that I had brought a brilliant performance but that something was kind of blocking me, and he wanted to know what it is. He said to me that he had seen a lot of people far more self-confident than me who knew far less than me about the topic. I realised that I have some self-censorship within myself, the voice of my mother always whispering that I am not good enough.

I know that this is sad, and I feel sad acknowledging it, but my mother never accepted my graduation. Since I graduated, she became far more aggressive, intolerant, cold, suspicious than she was before. She refused to attend my graduation ceremony and she forbade my father to attend too. Doctor Livio decided to come instead of them. He did not want to let me go alone. In fact, he is the only one who really never stopped fighting for me to get that Bachelor, so I was glad to have him by my side on that occasion. Still, all my friends had their families; all my friends were invited to dinner or had a party after the ceremony. I was the only one who simply went home, cooked a simple dinner for her parents and went to sleep as if nothing happened.

My relationship with my mother is therefore growing more and more conflictual, she has never been a mother and she will never be. I even started to think that having a mother or being a mother is the most horrible thing that can happen, but I know this is an extreme position. I just know for sure I will never have children. I do not want to be the mom to anybody. I would have a different way to be a mom, but I fear that her influence could still be present.

Actually, because of my mother, I am not living the life of a 37-year-old. I am not saying I should be married, have a job and a flat with my partner, but I am delayed with everything in my life. I do not have the mental structure of a 37-year-old. Everything is as if I never moved on from my 15s, I still relate to people in a very childish way, I do not manage to have adult relationships to people and my feelings are unstable. I am faced with 25-year-old people at University who are far more adult than me. They have partners and sometimes they even live together with them, they decide what they do, they plan their holidays, they travel, they are independent. I am here, I still live with my parents – allegedly because I need it, in reality because they need it – and I play the role of a sort of nurse, baby sitter, cook, servant, and I am the one to blame for everything that is wrong.

I accept this situation, I know this will not last forever. I remain silent and I swallow my pride, but I know this is going to end someday.

Log in to write a note
April 7, 2018

Oh, you HAVE to get some therapy and get out on your own. You can totally do it. I was a real Mama’s girl. We had control issues too, though she was a kind person and I loved her dearly. Still, my point is that I know how hard it can be to break away. I was so scared. Living alone helped me though. I loved alone for two years or so. Since then I’ve lived with my husband. Living alone changed my brain though. It’s made me more able to see life the right way. Please consider forming a plan to go out on your own. You only get one life!

April 7, 2018

Your parents obviously don’t need you. If they are not  medically independent they could hire help or go into assisted living.

 

I loved my mom. So, my sister, mom and I bought a house together but we lived independent lives. My sister got married and moved out, then they moved in to save money for a house and I moved out and had gotten married. My mom had heath issues and we assisted as needed because we love each other . With your family I don’t hear Love and even if you all get along together you should be independent even while living at home. They can cook their own meals or have someone else hired to assist. You are not obligated to be a servant and give up your life to people who don’t accept you, and can’t even be bother to share in the joy of your graduation.

April 7, 2018

There was a time in my daughter’s life that I was not able to be there for her as a mother should due to illness on my part.  It was difficult for her.  During that time she found a few women who became mother substitutes for her.  She  sought out and was able to find women who loved and cared for her as a mother would when I was not able to.  It would be so helpful to you if you had someone in your life like this.  So very helpful.  Keep writing here on Open Diary and maybe you will meet an older woman who becomes like a ray of sunshine in your life.  This is my hope for you.

April 7, 2018

I can relate to your comments on your mother. Mine was a monster pure and simple who abused me from birth till the day she died.First by beating me and then using psychological tactics.Yes your situation will change when your parents are gone. Its inevitable that everything will change but I like to think that becuase you are only 37 (thats not old ) they will change for the better and your “real” life will start.While some may disagree I also think you are wise not to have children despite the fact that you probably would make a great Mom.Genetics are always there in the background.   I hope you keep writing and your new life is not too far in the future.

April 8, 2018

I live this life as well. It is hard to discover your own path. But you are doing it. The healing is slow but you are healing. Just hold on and keep moving forward. They will die and then you will feel free. Hugs