Happy Friday!

Dear Diary,

Whew! It’s been a long week. I am so glad it’s Friday and that I actually have the weekend off. Between the frightful weather making me leave super early for work, the interviews, and work, of course, I am exhausted. Surprisingly, I’ve actually been sleeping well at night. Well, except for last night. I woke up a little after midnight and started getting anxious for my new job. The crazy thoughts running through my head. Now I am not feeling too confident. Why does my mind do this to me??? UGH! I still have a little bit to go though. My first day there is Feb. 6th…till then, I will try to reason with myself.

I was so looking forward to adult game night at my bestie’s house tomorrow, but unfortunately her youngest daughter has the flu. The night has been cancelled. However, the day won’t be a total bust. I also have a family dinner to go to. We are all meeting at Olive Garden (one of my most favorite places ever. Hello breadsticks!) I look forward to telling my family about my new job. They all know how unhappy I have been with my current employer. I am so happy to actually be bringing some good news with me for once.

So, today I told another coworker I was leaving. The conversation as follows (sorry in advance for the profanity):

Me: So, I put my 2 weeks notice in on Tuesday.

Him: What! Why?

Me: Because I got a better job opportunity. Plus, I will no longer have to work weekends or holidays. And I will no longer have to be up at 3:30 am for work! That’s why.

Him: Do you think I am stupid?

Me: What do you mean?

Him: That’s not why you’re leaving. I see it all over your face every time I’m here.

Me: What are you talking about?

Him: You hate this place. And I am going to guess it’s because of the moron in the office. (Our Boss)

Me: It may have a little to do with her and some of the shit she has pulled and the shitty way she runs this place and how she has run everyone off. But it’s mostly due to a better job opportunity.

Him: Well, you suck. Fuck you!

Me: Well, fuck your right back!

Then he gave me a hug and said he was truly happy for me and wished me luck. That was the best response yet to my leaving. I haven’t seen or talked to my boss since putting my notice in. No surprise there. Yeah, to be honest, I am mostly leaving because of her. I was able to tolerate the place, but once she took over the place literally went to hell. But yeah, enough about her. I am in a good mood and want to keep it that way.

Okay, Diary, that’s it for now. Time to go figure out dinner.

Your Friend,

That Girl

Log in to write a note