Blue Ruin

Sunday night is quiet and the kids are in bed. Ella’s asleep and Joey’s reading; he never sleeps on Sunday night right away.  Misses his mother since tonight is her late shift.

I started writing again, first time in such a long time. I worried if my fingers still remembered the words and if they would look as clumsy on the screen as I would judge them to be. Always critical of myself when it came to that, so many others whom I wrote with that were more impactful in their execution than myself, or so I perceived.

Watching Sunshine of the Spotless Mind while my stove snaps timber with flame. Even the dog’s asleep.

 

Log in to write a note
March 25, 2019

How happy is the blameless vestal’s lot! / The world forgetting, by the world forgot / Eternal sunshine of the spotless mind! / Each pray’r accepted, and each wish resign’d.