How a relationship with a friend ended badly?

 Dear Diary,

 

Good friends are hard to come by, and if you should happen to be in the presence of one, then you should hold on to that person(s) very closely because you never know if you’ll find another one that’s similar to him or her. I agree with this statement; however, I am sad to report that I didn’t take this into consideration and as a result I’ve lost one of the best friends I’ll ever have. This is the story of how our relationship ended on a bad note and the lesson(s) learned in the aftermath.
 
It was Valentine’s day 1996, my friend and I were both in the second grade at the time when a gorgeous girl by the name of Valerie caught our attention. From the minute we laid eyes on her, we deeply fell in love with her. Everything about her just made us blush like crazy; from the way she looked that day to just about everything you could possibly think of.
 
She was wearing a navy blue blouse with a navy blue skirt to match and black pantyhose with black shoes. Her hair was short but, not too short like most of the other girls in our class, and it was in a ponytail. As soon as she sat down, we immediately rushed over to where she was sitting simply to start a rather intriguing conversation with her.
 
Believe it or not, I was the one who had the honor of having the first conversation with her because back then, I was considered to be the fastest in my class. I could outdo everyone when it came down to racing. Unfortunately as of today, I no longer have such a unique skill on the account of having asthma.
 
When my friend realized that I had beaten him, he was filled with rage towards me but, that didn’t stop me from having a conversation with her. Our conversation was based on a series of questions that involved getting to know one another such as one’s nationality. 
 
She responded that she was Puerto Rican where as for me, I was unresponsive because I firmly believe that one’s nationality is strictly personal and shouldn’t be revealed to just anybody, for that person could use it against you thus, physically and emotionally abusing you.
 
As a direct result of beating him to the punch, my friend’s anger took its toll on him. We got into a huge and brutal fight, which ended in me receiving a concussion by me getting hit in the head pretty hard and more importantly, I lost a very close friend of mine.
 
What I learned from this experience, is that never let someone especially some girl come between very close friends because you’ll lose that special friendship that the two of you share, possibly forever. Furthermore, I believe that good friends are to come by and should be truly cherished because once they’re gone, it is rather difficult to replace them.
 
 
 
 
 
 

Log in to write a note
August 24, 2012

Hi. Just noticed you’re diary and the title intrigued me because over my life i have known many people that i thought were my close friends, but who weren’t. I think when you make friends at school you don’t know that they are your true friend until you leave and find out just how much you both have in common or whether it was just the situation at the time. Maybe you would have remanied friends

August 24, 2012

and maybe you would be just the way you are now. I suppose re-writing history is one of the things we will never be able to do as much as we want too sometimes. However, i wish as i was growing up that someone had told me not to tell other people my nationality because being an Italian (with very old fashioned parents) growing up in the UK was not easy and i would have saved myself a lot of

August 24, 2012

trouble, espeically in football! Sorry for the very long notes! Thats it now i promise! *Living-Life*