Hi there

So tomorrow is back to work…same for most grown ups I suppose.

This year’s group of kiddos seems pretty good…chatty, but good. Chatty seems to be the plague of fifth grade. We say it every year. 

Monday starts "real" school. The get to know you, feel good stuff is done and it’s time to buckle down and get to business. I should get some pictures of my classroom to share. It’s actually pretty good looking at this point.

My  classroom is still haunted. Last year, "George" would turn on the microwave and play with my iPod (shuffling the music and messing with the volume). He really liked the microwave this summer, but he didn’t have much choice because my iPod was with me most of the time in the computer lab. This year is no different. "George" has been shuffling the music and messing with the volume. He’s also escalated into shoving things off of shelves. I’ll take a picture of what he tossed. It wouldn’t have just fallen. Luckily, the children were at PE when he decided to toss it on Monday. Teacher next door heard the crash and came looking. George liked to take up residence in his over head announcement speaker and play the radio (it’s not actually hooked up to a radio….hence the creepiness of it). Next door teacher said that if George was going to behave this way, he wasn’t going to let him in his speakers (funny…not sure you could stop him). I "spoke" with George and told him to stop it, and that if he did that again, I would not allow him in the room. I think he was upset because I hadn’t told the students about him yet. I did tell them after they returned about "unexplained things" that might happen in the classroom. In true George form, 10 minutes later when they were working on their goals for the year sheet George decided to turn the iPod on and mess with the volume. Nice. The kids got a bit of a thrill and that’s all they want to talk about. I told them that they are not to talk about it and to just let "George" be. The more you pay attention to George the more active he can be. Silly ghost. 

 

Log in to write a note

Ben would love to be in your classroom.

How much is your curriculum affected by NCLB overtesting prep?

September 8, 2013

hehe, sounds like he is going to be feisty this school year. So Common Core, where can I find the best information about this, Miles’ teacher kind of sucked explaining it. He is 3rd grade btw if that helps … I keep meaning to ask you

September 15, 2013

RYN:I love the books as well – I couldn’t write about it so well if I didn’t 🙂 And yeah – Snape & Dumbledore are also key to the victory of the light, and my view it just one view that could be entirely wrong. I just like the shades of gray (so to speak) that you can find if you want to!