‘child is the father to the man’

No idea where what I just wrote. One of the wonders of the new technology. You can never predict what surprises lay in store.

As I think I was saying, just write and see what the outcome is. I have spent a long time banging the old head and sometimes it is so easy.

Used, when an adolescent, to be able to rant on with word-association for hours, just to see the flow of words and the raw material of imaginative inspiration. Perhaps withdrawing into childhood, even then. …probably. 

Its funny how even the gibberish can be inspired or uninspired. I guess one has to factor in naivite. Approach it  that way, but you can’t consciously and be truly naive.

‘the child is father to the man‘  I read today and finally understood. Heard it many times, said in those or other words, but didn’t fully understand. I think its a bloody  BS&T song as a matter of fact. I thought of it as romantically motivated quasi-insight. I feel it fully now. Ironically one returns to one’s feelings to gain insight into things one goes through one’s life being unable to.

horrifically sentimental I guess, maybe. I guess its all a veil of illusion. You start trying to find out why it works when you’re a kid, spend your whole life doing it, and arrive where you finally see what its all its about or something like that.

I’m not sure what’s going on with my attention span these days. Maybe its not just these days, maybe its been a problem all along. I create roadblocks for myself, create problems. Could dwell on them for hours, days, the rest of my life or at least another entry here.

I think about it and I get soured. I stultify. My imaginative powers, if such exist, are switched off effectively. One has to like, to enjoy what one is doing I guess. When that happens, more starts to fall into place in the here and now.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note