My Grandaughter’s visit

 

  What a fun day! Unlike so many as of late.

My grandaughter was over for the first time in several years. I’ve been over to her Grandmother’s many times over the past couple of years, but for one reason or another (of which I won’t go into) she hasn’t been at "my" place. So there was some sense of dislocation on her as well as my part.

My dear has changed quite a bit. Perhaps it stands out more in the context of  being over at "my" place again. She is becoming a young woman, a typical teenager, no longer the child I knew for so many years. Her energy levels are different. She is more reluctant and much less impulsive. She is also petrified of people and their opinion of her. The former is normal, the latter an outcome or her own personality and unique circumstances.

Man I sound clinical though. She is budding a little bit as an artist. Not the wild, out-there kind (like her mother), but in a more modest way. She knows what things look like, so can get the essence of something, the outline, things of nature, mainly, derived from her interest in science when she was younger. I’d thought maybe she would be heading in that direction, but maybe not. Who knows. She may end up being more conventional than these interests she has right now and that’s cool. She is so solitary though. She does have friends, but she seems to have trust issues. Given the events of her young life that would make complete sense.

Ah well. As usual what the hell can I do? She is in good care right now, living with her paternal grandmother. She is safe for the time being.

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 30, 2012

Thank you for your note and the kind words about my photography.