My story 18

The next day we started working. The school had quite a bit of land with it. Our Job was to cut wood for the school. Cut, split and stack 200 face cord of wood. It was enough to fill a small pole barn. Ken and Steve used the chain saws while we moved brush and hauled the wood to the truck bed. Now there went any baby trees, allllll dead beach and maple. And let me tell ya, beach is heavy. And they grow huge. Most of the blocks of wood were probably 18 inches long and AT LEAST 20 inches in diameter. Sometimes we would get lucky with a smaller maple but not usually. This beach was huge. Wet and knotted. If you don’t know anything about cutting wood. Wet wood sucks. Knotted wood sucks worse. Having knotted wood means the grain of the wood isn’t strait it’s all swirly, which makes it a Bitch to split. Most piece’s of wood weighed at least 80 lbs. It was harder work then I thought. By the end of the first day I already wanted to quit but I couldn’t. When we finally finished cutting wood I was dead tired. Soaked in sweat. It was 90 degrees and I ran for the closest shade to me. A big tree on campus was where I first started to notice the Beauty of the island. As I laid on the ground staring at the top of the tree, Cool grass on my back, gentle breeze swaying the leaves I dozed in and out. I was exhausted. Napping under a tree in my work clothes i Realized this is what peace felt like. No yelling, no fighting, no need to be defensive. Just quiet. Just nature. Just me. My anxiety left me for a short while. I had no worries. I flipped over on my stomach and picked at the grass this was amazing. Heaven. Why couldn’t everyday be like this. I was definitely dreaming a bit when my boss Steve called for me. Told me to hurry and shower up, he was going to show us the town. All clean and freshened up I jumped in the truck with the other guys. And Steve drove us to town, which was about 25-30 mins away. He gave us a tour. The boat docks, post office, ice-cream shop, toy museum, boat museum and all the little places a small tourist town would have. We ended the tour with a stop to the ice cream shop. The employees were gorgeous and the serving of ice cream was generous. It was a pretty damn good day.

Log in to write a note
February 24, 2018

Hey it seems like you’re writing your story on here in the same manner as I am. I will check yours out.

February 24, 2018

@gonegirl thanks. I’ll check yours out as well. I’m on a roll, make sure you start on pg 1