My story? Pg 16

Here summer was. I got all packed up for my new job. Iv had a job before. When I was 16 I worked at McDonalds to pay for my phone and attempt to buy a car. (I never made enough because I was part-time and moved to Hayden’s house. So I didn’t have a ride.) Anyyyyyway the interviewer told me I would be on this island for 5 days. I’d have lodging, food and pay provided. I would be doing manual labor on the school campus I was staying at. Mostly splitting and stacking wood, since the school was run on wood heat. I got to the boat docks at 5:30 (the only way to reach the island is ferry or plane) I was looking for my employers whom I haven’t met. While I was looking a huge 6’11 guy came over to me and asked me if I was the new employee. Jesus this guy was big. And the guy next to him was big too, just not as tall. I was pretty intimidated. Two huge dudes are going to be my bosses……. I was scared honesty. They introduced themselves. The tall one was Steve  and the shorter one (not by much) was Ken. Ken was Steve’s boss but would be overwatching and helping with the work. We got on the ferry. It was a cold ferry. There wasn’t much heat and the wind was blowing hard on the water. The waves were pretty big too. I had never been on a ferry so this was definitely new to me. We started out on the harbor. And I was sitting across from Steve and Ken. There were other people on the boat, 4 other kid’s one who seemed pretty buddy,buddy with Steve. Ken looked at me and asked me if I wanted a pop-tart. It wasn’t what I was expecting from Someone like him but I accepted And ate it. When we finally got to the island 2 hours had passed. We got our luggage and loaded it into a big 2010 Chevy suburban. We started driving, it was a gorgeous, sunny day. It was still early in the morning so it wasn’t super hot, but you could tell it was going to be a hot ass day. Steve drove maybe 30 minutes all the way to the south side of the island, where few people live.

Log in to write a note