Nearing the end…or the beginning?

<p>Hard to believe that it has come to this but one of life’s big milestones is just around the bend. I officially retire in 60 days. Gave my notice back in May and my initial feeling was one of exhilaration. I once loved the thrill of my career. I’m lucky to have gotten in on the ground floor of this whole internet thing…and it has been a pretty wild and exciting ride. Working in New York City for the last 30 years has been interesting to say the least……but it’s most definitely time. The thrill of the hunt in closing the big deal is gone. The ability to feign interest in a strategy meeting is gone. The desire to attend company functions is gone.</p><p>I’ll turn 62 shortly after I retire. So far I have managed to win the war that is my health. Finances are in great shape. One kid already out of college and the other one a sophomore . I did all of the things I’m supposed to do and I’m looking forward to the next chapter. But somehow…I’m already beginning to feel irrelevant. Damn!

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2017

Congratulations on retiring. and winning the war

30 years ago in rural Michigan we were pretty lucky if we could to get a dial-in connection using PPP at 1200 baud to connect to distant hosts. There were five free lines sponsored by the University of Michigan via a rural datafication grant. I still remember the phone number. We had a song back then, “A host is a host from coast to coast and no one will talk to a host that’s close unless the host, that isn’t close, is busy, hung or dead.” Oh, Wilburrrr.

November 4, 2017

Congrats! You’ll be surprised at how busy you’ll be. Sometimes I wonder how I ever had time to work!!!

November 4, 2017

Congrats on making it not only to retirement but in doing it right. Putting two kids thru college is a hell of an accomplishment. Relevant? There are tons of things you can donate your time too and remain relevant. The Red Cross jumps to mind. Countless others! Enjoy!

November 4, 2017

Congrats to you! As with most change, it seems scary and exciting at the same time. Enjoy it.

November 4, 2017

This is a tricky time….be patient w/yourself. It takes awhile to get a handle on retirement. Like everything else, it never goes the way you think it will but once you figure it out, it’s fantastic. Took me years to get it right…..just remember to do something that feeds your soul…..something you only dreamed about but now can do. I’ve been going to oil painting classes for 13 yrs and that helps me deal w/everything else in life. Good luck to you 🙂

November 12, 2017

dear Icarus, the clue is to start now fostering interesting things to do. Don’t wait till the last day of employment, lol, unless you just want to vegg for a while and not have to think!

December 3, 2017

There are so many things to do! Irrelevant is not even on the horizon.

December 19, 2017

I can’t believe my eyes.  Is it really you?  Congratulations on your coming retirement.  So good to be back here with you dear folk.  Much love and respect.  Sandra aka minnie58

December 20, 2017

Hiya Minnie, how have you been?

*tx
December 21, 2017

Irrelevant. A feeling I think many of us share at this phase of our lives. Gotta find things to do now to keep those feelings at bay. A hobby. Traveling. Volunteer. Do a bucket list and ✔ check em off as you experience them. Still a lotta life to be lived and enjoyed.

January 20, 2018

Sounds like you were definitely ready and made a wise decision. I retired last May mainly because I couldn’t continue to work and manage my caregiving responsibilities at the same time. Also, it was just the right age. My job was not the same, but I miss my co-workers. They were my main social outlet.

Hope everything is going well for you since you retired.

January 21, 2018

@oswego I agree. I miss the comradery of the office ……but I don’t miss it enough to go back.

January 27, 2018

Hi! I remember you were here years ago. It’s great to read you again. I retired five years ago. I felt tired of everyting and enjoyed the freedom, … such as, time to eat breack fast and not having to look at the clock, no rush to school, no endless discussions with collagues, …….. It’s very ok now but still, I should have some more ‘free’ time to do all the things I really like. ????

Mns
February 4, 2018

Congrats, IK! Enjoy this new season in your life!

March 12, 2018

@msnosign Hello MNS…hope you are well!

 

February 7, 2018

Congrats IK. I’m not far behind you, so test those retirement waters for me.

March 11, 2018

It is good to see you here. I suppose your retirement went through?

I retired quite suddenly 4 years ago. I wanted to do something productive after 3 years of sitting around drinking coffee with the older men. So I started substitute teaching last Fall and I enjoy it quite a bit.

March 12, 2018

@boxer I will wager you are great at shaping young minds!

 

November 14, 2021

So, how are you enjoying retirement?

February 7, 2023

@bronner hard to say. I was enjoying it quite well until my wife became ill. Now we are finding our footing again and managing to get in some travel. Italy planned for June. Fingers crossed.