Batman Makes Things Better

I came home from work last night and Nichole was unloading groceries from the car. I helped her. She had gone to WinCo, Wal-Mart, and Costco. She seemed tired but in a better mood. No longer mad at me. Her feet hurt, though.

We were having rib eye steaks. Yum! She forgot to get something for Justin, though, so she had me go get a cheeseburger from McDonald’s. She gave me back my debit card and the cash for our semi-monthly allowance for eating out, but said she couldn’t find the “eating out” envelope to put it in. I pointed to her crotch and said that it was there. She didn’t get it the first few times and when I explained it, she still didn’t get it.

Me: It’s kind of envelope-shaped and it’s good to eat out.
Her: (frowning) I’m on my period. That’s disgusting.
Me: I don’t mean I want to right now. Just in general. Besides, I didn’t even know you were on your period.
Her: How could you not know? There have been pads in the trash next to the toilet.
Me: I didn’t see them.
Her: They are right there! How can you not see them?
Me: I don’t normally have to get anything down there, so I’m not going to look down there.
Her: I guess you really haven’t been in the bathroom, either.
Me: But anyway, it was just a joke. Sorry, I was unaware that it was the wrong time to be making a dirty joke.
Her: It’s just gross.

Other than the above conversation, things went fine. We were going to go to this triple feature thing they had going on in which they’d play all 3 Batman movies for $26 a person. Tickets here are only $6 per adult, so 3 movies would be $18. We have Netflix, so we decided to just get the first 2 that way and watch them before going to the 3rd one on Friday. My younger brothers, Matt and Ben, insisted they come along, even though they’ve already seen it. Nichole doesn’t really like that idea because she feels like an outsider whenever I’m with any members of my family. She feels like we have a connection that she can’t relate to and we talk in a way that she can’t join into. I think she’s kind of feeling unenthusiastic about the whole thing. She doesn’t even seem to be looking forward to watching any of the movies.

Well, we got them in the mail and watched “Batman Begins” last night. Nichole didn’t recognize it and concluded, to both of our amazement, that she actually hasn’t seen it before. So that was cool. It came out in 2005, so it was when she was still in Tucson, Arizona with her ex-husband. I know she’s seen “The Dark Knight” because she went with me to that. We started it at 11-something, despite her complaining that it was late and saying we should probably just go to bed and call off the movie plans on Friday. It was almost 2 when it was done because we kept pausing it. As soon as it was over, she said she wishes she could watch the 2nd one right then. I think she will be looking forward to watching it tonight and then the 3rd one on Friday.

Log in to write a note

well that joke was nice and awkward… i dont get why she acts like that.

July 26, 2012

ahh I just rewatched batman begins after seeing dark knight rises twice. Batman really does make everything better <3