I Guess Batman Doesn’t Make Things Better

Another almost-argument. We were at the dinner table last night and the neighbors rode their bikes by. Then a little later they both walked by with their dog. I realized that they didn’t have their dog when they rode by, so they left him at home while they rode.

Me: Man, dogs are easier to find sitters for than kids.
Her: Yeah.
Me: And you can even leave them home alone at an early age. I mean, by 1 year old they are about as old as a 17-year-old human.
Her: No, a 1-year-old dog is the same as a 7-year-old human.
Me: Actually, dogs mature faster in their first year and then slow down after that.
Her:  It’s 7 dog years for every 1 human year. Even vets tell you that.
Me: But when you think about it, dogs are… able to mate at only 1 year, so–
Her: Dogs mate after 6 months.
Me: Okay, then even more so. That would be like a… 3-and-a-half-old.
Her: Well, whatever. You just have to be right.
Me: …Well, I guess this isn’t a very important thing to talk about.
Her: It’s not important at all.
Me: Right… you corrected me first, though, so I thought it was okay.
Her:

Today when I was home for lunch:

Her: What time is the movie?
Me: 9:45.
Her: Oh. I should probably start getting dinner ready, then.
Me: Well, 9:45 is one of the latest showings, so any other showing would be earlier and would mean you’d have to get dinner ready even more so.
Her: …thanks.
Me: What do you mean ‘thanks’? It just sounded like you were saying that since it is that early, you’d better get dinner ready.
Her: How about you just go to the Batman movie with you brothers?
Me: Why? Because I misunderstood you?
Her: I don’t want to go.
Me: I thought you wanted to see it.
Her: I do. But I won’t enjoy myself with them there.

She wanted to spend time with me, like a date, and we couldn’t do that with them there. Plus, even if I call it off with them and say I’m just going with her, my sister can’t watch Justin until later, so we wouldn’t have time to do anything before, anyway, and she doesn’t like just going to a movie because that’s not her idea of spending time with me. I want to see it, but not without her. I don’t want to cancel on my brothers, though. It was planned all week. We can spend time together any time we want. We rarely do anything with my family. She says I’m making a big deal out of it by not just going with my brothers. I said it wouldn’t be fair to her and she said, “Since when has that ever made a difference in anything?”

I don’t know what to do. The more I talked about it, the more she was upset saying I’m making a big deal out of it. Finally I said, “Well, I guess right now’s not a good time to talk about it, then,” and I went back to work. I’m not looking forward to going home and continuing where I left off. She’ll insist I just go with them and I don’t think she’ll be happy, no matter what I do. If I stay home, she’ll be upset that I cancelled the plans with them and she won’t want to do anything because she’s upset. If I go, she’ll probably be upset that I went and left her at home since she wants to spend time with me. She said to just do whatever I want, since that’s what I always do anyway. I want for us to both be happy, but it seems she is intent on preventing that.

Log in to write a note
July 27, 2012

If shes unhappy with whatever decision you’re going to make. I would choose that would make her LESS unhappy, take her to the movies with you and your brothers. At least she will watch the film, and POSSIBLY enjoy it. 🙂

July 27, 2012

Just a thought, and it may not be a good one, but… Is it possible that she may secretly want you to just put your foot down and tell her what to do? There are some women who are more comfortable having someone else make the decisions.