Thoughts On Our Marriage Counselling

We just had an argument. One of many in the past. Actually I wouldn’t really call it an argument. I saw a funny thing on Facebook and wanted to show my wife. She was on the desktop on Facebook as well and was scrolling through one of her friend’s pictures. I brought the laptop to her and said I had something funny to read to her. Our son, Justin, interrupted and I paused. When I began again, Nichole, my wife, said “just a minute”. I thought she was talking to Justin because he was going to talk again and I was starting to read something. I realized she was talking to me and I confirmed it with her. I saw she had just opened one of the pictures that had some funny list on it.

Her: Yeah, I’m reading something. I was already reading it before you started.
Me: Okay… but you were still scrolling down and hadn’t even clicked on that one when I started reading this…

I walked away and she finished.

Her: Okay, show me whatever it is you want to show me.
Me: Nah, it wouldn’t be enjoyable for me anymore.
Her: Why not?
Me: Eh, the way you said it.
Her: The way I said it?
Me: Yeah. ‘Show me whatever it is you want to show me.’ It seems like I was bugging you.

Then she got up and went into the kitchen. I heard her start crying and, a few minutes later, she told me to make my own dinner. I went in after thinking about it and apologized. She said it was okay. I said I was trying to understand what she was feeling and she said she doesn’t want me to. She was still softly crying for a while, but I got the impression from her that she really didn’t want me around. Many times she’s wanted to say something to me and my tone of voice or whatever indicated to her that she was bugging me and she’s responded with “never mind, I feel like I’m bugging you” each time. It really wasn’t that important and I only like showing people funny things if they are in a good mood. Otherwise it is wasted because they don’t find it funny.

I’m wondering if it has anything to do with our appointment today. We had our 2nd marriage counselor session today. I’ve seen the therapist thrice and Nichole has been there the last 2 of those times. According to her, the problem (even though she says not to think of it as a “problem”) is that Nichole is on the high end of the emotional scale and I’m on the low end, normally ignoring them. Nichole doesn’t feel a connection with me and she can’t until I get more in tune with my emotions and stop thinking so much. Instead of trying to explain my intentions during an argument and trying to get to the heart of the matter, I just need to tend to the symptoms, which are her hurt feelings. I’m not sure how to do that yet.

The problem is that I turn the situation to be about me. I said or did something that hurt her and when I realize what it was, I see that she misunderstood me and so I try to explain what I meant. But the therapist said that that is like trying to explain to someone that you didn’t mean to hit them with your car while they are lying in the street bleeding. The intentions don’t matter. The action does. I’ve always felt the intention mattered more than the action and I’ve lived my life that way.

So when an argument starts, I’m supposed to “STOP”. Stop what I was going to say. Stop trying to explain anything. Stop thinking. Just try to empathize with her and treat the emotions. Emotions and I don’t get along well. I view them as cosmetic. Costume jewelry. Having a sword and shield stage prop in a battle. Having a toy screwdriver when trying to fix a car. Useless for practical reasons and only there for a past time when nothing important is going on. When we have an argument, I don’t want to understand her feelings. That’s like getting trapped in a cave and fretting that you broke a nail. Tending to fingernails is for when you’re in a safe, comfortable environment and time is in abundance. But I’m told that regardless of how counter intuitive it seems to me, focusing on my and Nichole feelings and tending to them is the key here.

I was walking home from work and thinking about that. I’ve been kind of depressed since the session. I feel lost. I feel like I’m in an alien world. I feel inadequate. At a disadvantage. I feel like everything I know is wrong. All my life I’ve been doing things wrong. I feel stupid. I normally try to be the best I can be at whatever I do. I try to reach mastery of something. How can I do the same for this? I’m just starting and other people have been practicing it their whole life. I feel defeated. And anxious. And hopeless. How can this work? I started the therapy sessions trying to find the missing key to our marriage and now that I’m getting a better idea of the problem, it is seeming many times more insurmountable than I imagined.

What can I do? Can this even work? Even if I do the best I can, will I even come within 10% of some other guy who is naturally able to? I feel like I’m depriving Nichole of the happiness she deserves. I feel like I’m wasting her time. She has some health issues. I worry how long she’ll live for. She should be able to be happy before she dies and not waste time with someone who has no clue. If she’s figuratively lying on the ground bleeding, she doesn’t need someone whose extent of medical knowledge is from TV shows. She needs a real doctor. She deserves someone better. Not someone with better intentions, because mine are there, but someone who can perform.

Log in to write a note
July 24, 2012

I hope you don’t mind a little input from someone who’s been in similar circumstances. I’m not sure you’re getting the best advice. It really needs to go both ways, in that your wife has to develop a bit of a thicker skin, and trust that you’re NOT trying to hurt her feelings. Couples do get snappish with each other, it’s normal and not a big deal — unless one of them perceives it as a personal attack every time it happens. You need to be patient, yes, but she needs to trust your intentions a little more.

July 24, 2012

I read your entry with interest as I am similar in some ways in regards to emotions. My therapist recommended I read Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman. It is an old book, 1995 I think, but it was very appropriate for me, I read it and got a lot out of it. It may help you too, I hope it does and you are led away from thinking your problem insurmountable.

Is it weird to say that you remind me of my husband in so many ways? When we argue, we don’t lose our head and name call. We debate and logic our way through a situation. Sometimes it’s worse that way because he lets things brew and he knows exactly what to say to cut me the deepest without any attempt to understand the emotional implications of doing that. But I feel that if you love each other

enough, like any married couple, and you’re willing to work it out with counseling…that proves that you aren’t completely devoid of understanding. Either you can blame yourself or continue to address the problems. Silly arguments like the one you described are all apart of marriage. They only scratch the surface. We all need to battle through them, let them go and continue making it work if we

can. I certainly hope I don’t sound like I’m trivializing your situation either because I don’t know the whole story. All I can say is to have a little confidence and faith that things can improve. *

July 25, 2012

I’m glad you’re enjoying my writing. It’s hard to write, it feels so stupid and hackneyed and narcissistic but I think it’s important. I completely identify with your feelings of inadequacy. I feel like no matter what I try to do, it’s wrong. Like in a bad dream where your legs are heavy as lead and you’re trying to run but you just can’t get there in time. I hate that feeling.