Football

Lauryn is accepted by her football team of boys.  The coach (whom I had poked in the eye on purpose as a child Lauryn’s age…he deserved it!)  told her they needed her on the team so they could win games.  He even slaps her in the head when she has on her helmet and says way to hussle.

Some adults messaged me on facebook and called me a bad parent.  Saying how sometimes parents had to say no to protect their children.  How she’ll have a target on her back and other coaches will say go after the girl before the ball.  How she’ll get hurt seriously and I’ll know they were right. 

I told them, that I told my girl, they won’t throw you the ball until you earn it.  JUST because you are a girl, you have to run faster, catch better, and tackle harder.  That of course she’ll be hurt, it’s football…and she’s ten. It’s Pee Wee, 70 pound weight limit.  It’s not such a bad lesson  

But, I asked around.  Found a gal that played first string in High School football.  She was little and had hair longer then mine.  It was pretty.  She told me that coaches offered the players $100.00 each leg they broke of hers.  She had to fight like hell to be let on the team, and I asked her what her momma would say to me…to tell these adults.

She said her momma would say, "I always supported my daughter in whom she was to become, and football was part of that experience."  She told Lauryn to lift weights if she was serious, and Lauryn is all about it.  This lady asked for her game schedule to come and bring her cow bell in support.  She said she would help bulk Lauryn up..

When I was little, one of the only things my father did right was convince me I knew and could do things I couldn’t at the time.  But…because he Believed I could, truly convinced me…I was able too.  He would hang himself sideways off of a pole, and tell me I could do that.  Only ten year in my town that could.  I still can.  Lauryn can.  Did I do bad by passing that along?  I never wanted to play football…did me asking Lauryn at four to lift a couch so I could vacuum underneath it…inspire this?  She lifted the couch, with  no struggle…I used to be that strong.  I wish she didn’t want to play football…but don’t tell~

 

Log in to write a note