I’M tired?

Dan has shingles now.  It’s always something.  Always tired, always ailing.  And now he has shingles.  He got switched to the factory at his job, which is about a $200.00 pay cut per week.  When he said he didn’t want too, they said we’d hate to lose you, but if you don’t like it you can turn in your two weeks.

 

So, he did.  He found a better job and starts after this week.  He’s in pain.  Again.  Shingles.  And Tired.  Again.  So is everyone around me.  Even my Lauryn has a cold.  Jack caught it.  Girls at work have it.  I just had my first ten stitches taken out.  They ask me how I feel.  Fine.  No room for me to be tired and ailing.  Ever.

How tacky IS it to ask for a little compassion for the ones Always dealing with the chronically ailing and tired?  How tacky IS it to ask to be the one that gets to be tired?  Just once in a while, every great once in a while.  Very tacky, according to the sick and tired.

How tacky is it to wish I’d get a case of the shingles.  Hear Dan say instead, "Let mommy rest, she’s tired."  You don’t know how much I hate the word tired.  He uses the word every single damn day.  Tired.  In Pain.  That’s now a given, tell me something I don’t know.  I’m fine.

Log in to write a note
L
September 1, 2012

Hey there! Life is so tough sometimes. Things will get better. You are fine because you have no choice but to be fine. Ten stitches??? Bet there’s a good story behind that. I love you, Ellie.

January 4, 2013

The caregiver needs a break too. From a chronically ill friend, you are NOT tacky for needing some time, pampering, etc.. for yourself. You have to take care of you before you are going to be able to be 100% for the others. *HUgs*