Updates on the Job Front

Well, the Art 1 split position did not pan out. I interviewed on a Wednesday, and the following Wednesday, I was notified that the position had been filled. I was fine with it, until a few days passed and I thought maybe I could’ve gotten another interview before they told me no. Oh well. I had a lot of people ask me about it internally, and all of them seemed surprised as well. Many of them had put in good words for me for the position, as well as my principal. Looking back now, it would’ve been hard to do a split position with materials, 2 classrooms, etc.

The Yearbook role opened online a few weeks ago. I immediately applied and the principal that I interviewed with texted me to tell me about the open role, ensuring that I would apply, as we had already discussed the position. I reached out to an old schoolmate of mine concerning her being a reference. She was one for me last year, but I didn’t get the job last year. She said she’d be happy to be a reference again, but when I asked her to write a reference letter, she stated that she wanted to remain neutral this time around and that nothing was influenced. I was thinking…”??” Ok. Pretty mixed feelings. She then asked me when my “formal interview” was, to which I’ve already pretty much had a formal interview, so I didn’t mention or respond to that sentence. I only said, “no problem, I understand, thanks anyway” in a response email. 🙄

This job stuff may not pan out. But I’m going to continue to try. The portal closes on the 22nd. I’m waiting to hear back from this, while also checking the job boards daily. During Teacher Appreciation Week, I received tons of wonderful gifts from students and their families. The most probably in my career. But do I feel a love for these children as my own? No, I do not. Do they give me a run for my money when I’m trying to teach? Yes! And I feel that I’ve had my fill for my elementary career. 10 solid years of young children. I need to continue to look and see what can be done elsewhere. I know that I cannot continue to work with elementary aged children for another 10 years.

My oldest daughter is sick. She threw up this morning around 1:30. I felt so sorry for her. She is staying home from school today. She’s already feeling better. I’ve signed her up for a few classes in the summer time. I found her a music and yoga class 3 days a week, as well as an art camp for a week that my friend is hosting. She’s my little talented music and art girl. 😍

My youngest is continuing to be her silly self and trying to be very independent. She brightens up my day with her smile. She’s a little ray of sunshine. 🤗

Alright, time to go do something. I have thank you cards to write to these families who were nice to give me something. I’ll keep the update coming for the job once I hear of it.

Log in to write a note
May 15, 2018

Hope the job stuff works out and your daughter feels better soon!

May 17, 2018

@thediarymaster Thanks very much!

 

May 18, 2018

Best of luck on the job front!

 

May 20, 2018

RYN* Are we older and wiser yet?

I will pop back later to read, sorry.

*Ah OD :p