What even is my job

Check on your teacher friends, it’s not a good time for this profession.

Not only can we die, but some of us work in super conservative, closed minded schools with kids who use the N word and make kids who are different feel like killing themselves. Kids openly say they hate school. There is bullying and teachers running Bible students during contract hours and just an overall hateful behavior. They focus on chewing gum being banned but not hateful comments and not allowing kids to wear tube tops and Let’s Go Brandon shirts.

I’m missing my kids younger years to drive 45 minutes there and 45 minutes back for what? And often longer when it is bad weather.

This is the worst year of teaching for me to date. This children are awful and it starts at home. What person in their right mind continues in a profession where they try to deliver lessons and materials while kids talk over you. And you have a principal that tells you that you just need to yell at them to get respect.

Ok.

 

This is my last year at a middle school for awhile.

And I know my husband is done with the kids when I walk in the door after having a shit day for the millionth time but I would love to not be snapped at because he’s done and touched out.

I could use some support. But I have none. And that’s normal because I never really have had any, in general, most of my life so I’ve learned how to self soothe in a way. I’ve learned to help myself. I’m incredibly independent and rely and no one emotionally. Sad? Maybe. But it’s all I’ve ever known and it’s fine.

it’s fine.

Log in to write a note
November 28, 2022

Don’t give up. The kids need you.

November 29, 2022

Don’t blame the kids, blame the parents.  So many shitty parents out there who are raising disrespectful, ill mannered punks.  I don’t teach, but I do coach soccer and every year there is at least 2-3 kids on the team who are horrible, their parents usually think they are little princesses too.

December 10, 2022

@psychoactive so I’ve taught for 15 years and coached soccer all ages. I don’t really need a note about don’t blame the kids…I’m not naive to the terrible parenting out there. At 14, many of them can make other choices than they choose and they need to take some responsibility on how to be a human being on Earth.

December 14, 2022

@imtheprofessor 14 – 20 are lost causes, they SHOULD take some responsibility, but they are still in that “ME ME ME” stage and they already know everything.  They will eventually come around… maybe… hopefully. lol  I remember when I was 16 and thought I had it all sorted out… now in my 40’s I am questioning everything on how it turned out the way it did!  Ignorance is bliss.