What does one do?

What does one do on the day they send divorce papers to their spouse?

This is real. It has felt real for a long time, but every step of this process is like a giant slap of reality hitting me in the face. I am just walking (trudging) along through life, minding my own business, confident that I have a handle on this alternate reality I have created for myself.  Then the long arm of reality reaches out and wallops me, chuckling to itself, and taunting me, “Oh, aren’t you cute thinking you had a handle on your life…just wait until the divorce is final. Now that will be a doozy!” Meanwhile, I am picking myself up off the pavement looking around in confusion for who the hell just pulled a hit and run, and realizing reality just altered again while I wasn’t looking, shifting itself to accommodate this new development.

Reality is a bitch.

So. What does one do? The movies depicting celebratory drinks with the ladies isn’t accurate. I do not feel celebratory; just sad and exhausted. The ones in which you stumble into a bar aren’t right either. I have two kids to pick up from daycare in 4.5 hours. If I want to maintain custody, I can’t just show up intoxicated. Plus, that’s just bad parenting. I could throw his wedding ring into the ocean, but that’s a long drive and at least two week’s worth of groceries disappearing into the dark water. Burn all the pictures of us together? That’s a fire hazard. And there are good memories there too. Why are all the movies so dramatic? We don’t get to be that dramatic without consequence in real life.

Instead, I’ll write as eloquent a diary entry as possible, throw it out into the world, and get on with the day as if my mind isn’t reeling. Emails still need to be answered, reports submitted, kids fed and put to bed, and someone has to wake up again tomorrow to do it all over again. I guess that someone is me.

Log in to write a note
December 11, 2018

So sad, so familiar. You are on the same emotional roller coaster ride I was on.  It gets better, it gets better.  You’re in a jungle and can’t seem to find the way out, like I was.  What saved me was that I found a new love.  The jungle turned into bittersweet emotion.  Sad for the past but hopeful for the future.  I filled the days with as many new adventures as I could until finally one of those adventures took me to a place where I would find my new love. You have a long way to go so come here often and write and write and write.

December 11, 2018

You take time to breathe deep, allow yourself to mourn what you dreamed that didn’t materialize. You square your shoulders and you keep moving.

December 11, 2018

I can’t give any good advice, but I do hope that it gives you a feeling of conclusion and closure, in a good way.