Entry 785: Closing Buildings & New Horizons

I’ve been told that the building in which I work as security is closing.

The office staff are either to continue to work from home and may travel 60+ miles once a week. They’re not going to want to take the security guards with them. We (read: I) can’t be travelling over an hour to work, do a 12 hour shift and then travel an hour home again, just to do it all over again the next day.

I suppose I’m grateful to know now that this is happening. We have suspected it for the past 3 years, and we’re still in this building until 2025, so that’s something. The other guards are all closer to 60 and, in all honesty, most of them are thinking of retiring soon anyway. So that leaves me. Not yet 30 and I’ll be out of the most stable job I’ve ever had. 

I’ve been here for 8 years. I can’t say I’ve enjoyed every moment of it, especially when someone recognised me from my past and outted me to the whole building. (He was my auntie’s friends husband – not even someone that I recognised at all. I had to talk to my mum and ask who he was to find this out…)

For the past 2 years I’ve been doing a degree. It’s distance learning so I’ve not yet stepped foot into a brick university, but that may change with restrictions easing. My wife, Zoe, said that her boss may have a job for me. 

Zoe works in a nursery that is attached to the university in our city. One of the parents is starting up a new bit in the university and that they’re really struggling for staff. It will involve me using my new skills that I have and will be learning with my degree so that’s always helpful. I just hope that they won’t mind me still learning as I’m being employed. Hopefully it will be of similar or more money than what I’m on now because, well, debt.

I’ll just have to figure out what to do about the dog. Maybe we’ll be able to take him to a proper doggy day care because I won’t be starting work at 6am… 

 

 

-Jack

Log in to write a note