ROB THOMAS TONIGHT! *Edit*

I’m just a little bit excited.

Fourth row at the Fox, here I come!!!!!!!!!!!

The show was AWESOME! Our seats were way down front in the pit and we got there right as the first opening act (Carolina Liar) was starting. It was like we were in the third row because the front row was short. The band was pretty good. Then they did a set change and One Republic came out. They were good as well. The lead singer has a very nice voice. Caroline and I were ready for Rob though.

When he finally came out on stage, a lot of the people in the pit rushed the stage. That aggravated me a bit because it rendered the good seats useless, but once the calm settled a bit I realized that we still had an awesome up close view (and I wasn’t straining my neck looking straight up).

He sounded awesome, as I knew he would and it was a great show. The only thing I would have to complain about is that he didn’t really play any of my favorites from the new album. There are 5 bonus tracks and he didn’t play any of those 🙁

But that disappointment was made up for when the piano came out and he started playing “Bright Lights” (a Matchbox 20 hit) He played the first verse and then stopped and said “this doesn’t feel right, playing this by myself. Let’s get Matchbox 20 out here.”

Caroline and I looked at each other and screamed. All the guys from Matchbox 20 came out on stage and joined Rob to finish the song. Then they played two more together. MATCHBOX 20 CAME ON STAGE AND GAVE US A MINI CONCERT!

That was a fabulous, completely unexpected surprise.

I got home way later than I should have and was exhausted the next day, but it was worth it.

Log in to write a note

Oooo I’m seeing him when he comes to Australia next Feb. Please let me know how it goes. I can’t wait to see him 😀

September 30, 2009

this is avoidance of an appropriate update. 😉