Therapy Appointment More on the ex Caregiver

April 27,2018

Yesterday I had a therapy appointment at Healthways I was supposed to see this new guy since my regular therapist has been taking a long sick leave. It was at 12. When I got up there I wasn’t in the mood to talk. He asked me how I had been. I said I had a really bad month. Depression and anxiety was very high. He asked me what was going on. I said I had a lot of problems with a caregiver. He wanted me to elaborate. I just didn’t feel like rehashing that messed up situation again.I told him I fired her . He asked if I am doing ok now. I said yes. I really did feel pretty good that day. Then I told him i was going to quit the agency. He was concerned about that. He said with my mental and physical problems will I be able to keep up with things. I said yes I want to be more self sufficient. I told him Anne will help me out if i have any problems. He asked me if I wanted to talk about anything else. I said no . He let me go early. We did not make a follow up appointment.

Early that day I did have a worker. I was not impressed with her. She didn’t do a lot. She sat at my kitchen table playing with her phone. She did fix me breakfast. Then she didn’t clean up afterwards. She didn’t drain the water from the sink. She left the kitchen counter a mess. After fixing breakfast she run the sweeper. She said till 11:30. It was then I decided to cancel the agency. I had made up my mind that these caregivers are more trouble than they are worth.

I was up early yesterday. I think I got up around 3:30 I read my NIV Study Bible. I was on Genesis. I was reading about Noah and the flood. After the flood God established his covenant with Noah. It was sealed with a rainbow. In the notes they had a chard about the different types of Old Testament covenants. Also read a chapter in this one book I’ve been reading The Soul’s Religion by Thomas Moore. I like this book but do not understand hardly any of it. Still Moore has a lot of interesting things to say about psychology and spirituality which I have been into lately,.

While my caregiver was here I joined this one site to play correspondence chess. It is called Chess Corner. It is a really cool site. I have three games going on. I am playing white against this one person named guss. So far our moves have been 1 e4  e5 2 Nf3 Nc6 3 Bg5… I think black will either play 3…Nf6 or 3…a6 attacking my bishop. These are the first three moves of the Ruy Lopez opening  I also started a game with somebody named genemolls  I am black. We just finished our first move. He started with 1 e4 I played 1…e5 Got another game going with the same person. In this game the first move was 1 d4 d5

Well so much for my morning. When I got back from my therapy I called Anne. We got on chat for a while. While we were on chat I called WV Choice. I told them I no longer need their services. They were kind of rude to me. Person I talked with hung up on me. I said to Anne I bet they are glad to see me go. We talked about this and then she came up around   one. We had coffee and she cleaned up the kitchen. We played cards for a while and then we had a long chat about caregivers.

Bottom line is I am glad to be done with them. Apartment is not too bad. if I can keep it up I should be in good shape for inspection. Anne said she will help me.

Well that is about it

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
May 10, 2018

I have not reached the point of needing a caregiver but personally it fills me with dread. The thought of a stranger in my home and then not doing what needs doing.A rest home sounds even worse. When the day comes that I end up on my own (my partner will likely die before me )I hope I have the strength both mental and physical to carry on independantly.   I share your desire to just give up sometimes.   I had 3 inpatient admissions last year to a place that was like hell on earth.Here’s hoping your regular therapist comes back or you get one who is more capable than the one you saw recently .

May 12, 2018

@truthseeker1  thank you for reading my entry. I ended up going back to the same agency and the same caregiver. I needed one for inspection which is coming up nexxt week.