Previous Moments In Time

It was dark, so dark I could not see my hand in front of my face. I know that sounds weird, but it was darker than night. I thought I was just having a bad dream but I was not dreaming and I could not remember who I was or where I was.

Time seemed to stand still and I was having a hard time with the darkness and the lack of noise.

Out of nowhere came a sudden slight hint of a light but the light was far off, kind of like at the end of a hallway or a tunnel. The light was getting brighter and closer but I did not feel any sort of motion.

With the light came a whisper of noise, kind of like a wind blowing through the trees.

Suddenly I was in a room filled with light with buzzers sounding and people yelling. I liked it better when it was dark and there was no noise. These people were dressed in white and wore mask over their mouths while hovering over me.

These people were obviously medical types so I must be in a hospital getting some sort of treatment.

I could not move or say anything and had no feeling of any kind so I was still not sure what was going on. Then the whisper of the voices became loud and understandable and I could hear the medical types discussing that I had an allergic reaction to a shot I received in the emergency room earlier.

The man in the middle of the faces hovering over me was not happy and was yelling about how stupid it was for anyone to give a patient who was allergic to sulfa drugs, a sulfa type drug.

The guy talking then noticed I was coming out of the allergic shock and seemed relieved which made me feel better because he felt better. I still had no idea who I was or where I was or why I was at a hospital getting a shot of a sulfa drug.

People started to move away, the buzzers started to soften and the voices became calmer. The guy who seemed to be in charge took off his mask as did the others and let out a sigh of relief as he walked away from the table I was laying on. As the man walked away he told one of the others to give me something other than a sulfa related drug for the bee sting.

That is when it all came back to me. The bee had stung me on the foot while I was cutting the grass in my yard. I knew immediately I was having a problem and jumped in my truck (not a smart idea) and drove to the emergency room. I did not remember making it to the emergency room or anything else about the bee sting or being giving a sulfa drug. Apparently I was allergic to the bee sting and was given a shot of some sort of a sulfa type drug to fight off the effects of the bee sting.

No one had noticed the medical alert bracelet I wore on my right wrist that clearly indicated I was allergic to sulfa drugs until I went into sever shock from the sulfa drug and stopped breathing.

A little bee sting could have cost me my life, but the wrong drug to save me from the bee sting did cause me to stop breathing for three minutes. All of this drama over a bee sting was just a blur and all of the activity only lasted a little over twenty minutes. Twenty minutes after my bee sting I was alert, moving about and told I was ok and could go home!

Log in to write a note
July 17, 2004

I’m just strolling through your diary tonight. It’s that kind of a night. I came across this entry and it reminded me of when my father got stung by a bee. We were at our litttle cabin in the woods of Maine. I was about 10 years old and I dearly loved my father. He had a reaction to the sting and we barely made it to the hospital in time. In an instant, our lives can change forever~ adrift(nsi)