Work

I get up, go to work, open with Cabela’s, close with Cabela’s.  Come home eat, sleep, dream of Cabela’s.  I can’t turn it off.  I can’t get any rest.  I can’t focus on my children, or my life.  My life is Cabela’s.  I work in the Deli when they need me, I fold clothes when they need me, I work Customer service, but most of all I am ISP (In Store Pickup), clearly by choice.  I was furious on opening day when they scheduled me back in ISP.  I wanted to be up front, where I was use to everything.  I wanted to be at the register, right in the middle of all the action with all the customers, but no.  I had worked on the registers for the previous year, but now they are going to schedule me in a cage in the back, alone, with no one else around.  They did training for weeks for all the new people, and transfers from other stores.  When they walked us to the back of the store and said, "This is In Store PickUp" someone will make this their area of expertise, they will be back here most of the time.  I said, "NO WAY!, NOT ME!"  The fact remained for the first week of opening I was scheduled back their the majority of the time.  I thought it to be like receiving, people who get pallots off the truck.  Lonely.  I am a super people person.  I want to talk and interact, help others.  I want to be able to offer the legendary customer service that we talk about.  

Well…. I pouted, stomped my feet, put my bottom lip up, through a temper tantrum, begged my manager for the front end.  He said, "Everyone is going to have to learn ISP, and I am not going to change the schedule for you or I will have to change it for everyone" So, I had no choice.  I moved across country to be stuck in a box.  No, I have not wrote about this.  I have not had time.

Here it is a month later, and I have worked everyday on the clock in ISP.  I have clearly made it my own.  I love it back there, and I don’t want to share the task with anyone else.  Why? because I rock at it.  Everyone has their own way of doing things, and if I leave, and go home, or offer that position to someone else just for a while something is going to get done different, and it could take hours to fix.  I know, we have tried.  But here is the catch.  ISP is the hardest area to work in the store.  We receive boxes of items people have ordered online, tons.  Sometimes it is four pallots a day, other days it is 14 pallots.  I have to scan these boxes off the pallots as received in our store.  I then have to write the customers names on all the boxes, set them strategically in alphabetical order on the floor by their shelves.  I have to scan the shelf, scan the box to the shelf, scan the next shelf, scan the boxes to that shelf, so on and so forth.  I have to greet customers at the counter picking up these packages.  It is a chore in itself locating boxes and seeing customers.  I place orders for customers who can’t find things in the store.  I am considered "Customer Service Overflow."  If something can’t be resolved at Customer Service they are sent to me to fix the problem.  We had a safe on hold, but another employee sold it, not looking to see if it was on hold.  The person who had it on hold comes to pick it up, it is gone.  I have to locate another safe same size, weight, holds same amount of guns, and adjust the price accordingly.  

Cashiers and normal outfitters (employees) have a $50 adjust they can do.  Customer Service has $100, ISP has up to $1500.  I have all the abilities of management.  I can open up people’s credit cards to see what purchases they made/when, print them a receipt if they lost one.  I can decrypt credit cards (look at number) if I need to do a return for someone who might have ordered, found the product on the floor, and now wants the item returned.  I have a manager badge to override basically anything.  

I took on this roll and anger, and ended up LOVING it.  All that being said, and for a small rant.  There is a lady that was hired to work as basically the "Lead" in ISP.  Let’s just call her Jo.  She was trained with the lead’s in the store.  Basically it is General Manager, Two Senior Managers (soft lines, hard lines), five department managers, and then one to two leads for each department.  Leads are the first contact before management.  In any case, there isn’t really a lead for ISP.  She was just trained with the leads.  She was hired new with the store.  I have been with the store for a year.  I have CLEARLY been in ISP 25-30 more hours a week then she is.  Yet, she says these boxes need to go here, push these back, keep in alphabetical order, don’t do this.  I have a problem with this.  FINALLY, she is always saying "I am the lead back here so why is it you are always back here"  She gets anywhere from 1-12 complaints daily.  She refuses to help the customers by checking them out at ISP.  Hello! we are still customer service.  It is still our job.  They are too busy in the front to have to take our leftovers.  Help the dang customer, that is what we are about.  She is not lead back there, because she isn’t the best person for back there.  When they relieve customer service for breaks and lunch, they pull her from the back to the front, but they always leave me back there.  When I express my concerns about something in the back the Customer Service leads and management listen, and always change it.  I am so sick of listening to this woman, who’s son got fired from Cabela’s already, complain about things she can change, but refuses to see is a problem. 

I just kind of took on an area of the store, and prefer to be in that area. 

You know, it is funny, as upset as I have been writing this has straightened some things out in my mind and I already feel better.  It surely is all jibberish to all of you, but I needed to write about it. 
 

Log in to write a note