Clutching at straws (The death of OD?)

 Man this site was amazing back in it’s hay-day.  I think it really changed my life for the better. In fact, I know it did.

I’ve decided it’s gotten to the point where I have to give up on my second home.  It’s kind of a bittersweet feeling.  Nostalgic.  

The amount of entries I’ve seen from diarists claiming that OD is shutting down for good is just… well, ouch.  

I’m more annoyed that I doubt I would be able to transfer almost 10 years of entries over to another site, because a) It would take forever and a day b) I still don’t have a new laptop and would only be able to do so for 20 minutes at a time and c) this site only allows me to log into my diary once in a blue-moon.  So, there we have it.  

What I don’t understand is why the Diarymaster hasn’t just sold off the site to someone who would actually give a damn about it.  I mean, this site would surely be worth quite a bit of money these days, right?  Not to mention the domain-name cost after being around for so long.  But hey, it doesn’t even look like he gives a damn about that.

Yeah, I’ve read his past entries, giving us false-hope every now and then.  Yeah I love what he’s provided for so many thousands of people around the world, which he didn’t have to do.  Yeah I’m annoyed that the whole point of me keeping a diary will inevitably be useless, but for some reason this time, I believe the site will just be dead.
What other job does the Diarymaster actually DO that could be better than this?  
I don’t know him personally.  I don’t understand why he seems to be the only one who sticky-tapes up the site briefly each time it has a problem, and I don’t understand how hard it would be to simply PAY an IT-whiz intern or something to keep this site and his "side-business" alive…

I’m clutching at straws, clearly.  I’m thankful for this site and I can’t find another like it.  I checked out Prosebox, like everyone seems to be doing, and I guess I will end up there since everyone else is jumping ship.  I just wish it was more OD-like.  Naturally.

Log in to write a note

Ditto. I am going to ProseBox too. Just in case OD dies suddenly like MDD did.

October 25, 2013

Noooo!! Prosebox is so shit!! 🙁

October 26, 2013

I was thinking the same thing yesterday – feeling kinda nostalgic, I re-read some of my entries from 2005. Good times and bad times but just being able to read them all again, made me feel better. hope it doesn’t shut down obviously but I have OD and ProseBox now just in case…Hope they sort it out.

October 26, 2013

I’ve heard some other people talk about this Prosebox website so I decided to check it out. I didn’t check out much as I didn’t like it, haha. I do like this site but yeah, I also seem to have lots of trouble with it unfortunately 🙁

October 26, 2013

Don’t leave – I love reading your entries!!xx

October 26, 2013

saaaaad 🙁

October 27, 2013

I feel the same. What is your username on Prosebox? The same?

OD letting me leave some notes it’s a SHOCKER OF A SUNDAY!!!

You will get used to prosebox, just like you got used to OD in the beginning. Look me up there, I’m under the same name.

Prosebox is not “shit.” It IS however in Beta, and it’s pretty cool to be part of something being built, as opposed to something that’s disintegrating. As for importing… it’s on the radar, but really? Keep it in a document and you can always search it.

It’s so hard. I started writing at In The Wire, which was created by a disgruntled ODer, and it was fantastic but when it went to shit it really hurt, and being a refugee on another diary site was hard to begin with! Big hugs Matty, if it werent for OD I wouldn’t have met you, or other awesome faves xx

October 28, 2013

I have just told another of my faveorites that I will be looking into ProseBox as well. I can’t get on here most of the time as it is. And I’ve been here since I was 17! I just don’t think the DM is giving this site what is needed and I agree with you, he needs to seel it to someone who would run it and make it grand again