Congratulations (so far) Tasmania

Ouch ouch my lower back is killing me!  The stupid thing is I haven’t even gone to gym, so I didn’t do it there, nor did I do it at work – I woke up and it was just sore, so unco-me has somehow managed to go and fuck up my back in my sleep.  Since I’ve gotten up, I’ve been walking around hunched over, stretching it, leaning forward, even sitting on my knees on my bed whilst pretending to fuck someone, all because I’m trying to even out the pain.  God it’s so annoying.  I need to go to gym as well, and now I don’t think it’s a good idea.  It definitely feels like a muscular pain moreso, and I’m arching my back up even now.  Gah, this better be gone by Sunday.

I’ve still been keeping my eye out for other jobs, especially after my last paycheck.  I not only worked more hours last week than I have before, but I was paid $200 LESS than my other paychecks.  I know I went part-time from casual, but if that’s the constant pay then I am not happy.  Part of me wonders if I’ve been paid correctly, but I haven’t seen a payslip since I started there, cos they are all in the invoice office, and no-one is there when I start work.  I have the option for signing up to get them online, but to do that, I need one paper one to get some reference number or some shit.  Seriously?  How hard is it to just let me access my payslips.  I asked at work last night but of course it was just palmed off.  Surely that pay can’t be right.

So I’ve done sweet fuck all today – haven’t even left the house as I didn’t get up til 4pm.  Yeah go Matt – waste your day off, that’s the way.  Fuck sleeping as soon as i get home from work is near impossible because I just need to unwind.  Next thing I know it’s 5am and last night, or rather I should say, this morning, I didn’t go to sleep until 9am.  It’s almost like I’m living in my own little world.  And now, I’ve barely been awake for very long so far, so sleeping early is gunna be impossible I’d say.  I start work at 3pm tomorrow and 1pm Saturday.  It’s good having the 2IC in charge as the manager is on holidays – he pretty much lets me do my own thing, since everything needs to be done anyway.

I just wish I knew how I injured my back like I have, and I hope it fucks off soon.

I cleaned the oven today, something I’ve been meaning to do for about a week now, although I’ve been cautious cos I didn’t have goggles nor knew where to find some, so tonight I improvised with my sunnies.  I got the oven-cleaner, read the instructions and put on my dusk-mask, sunnies, gloves and attacked it.  I sprayed all corner of it and was careful not to get any on my skin.  The gloves only covered up to my wrist and it suggests long-sleeve gloves, but where the fuck am I dunno get them?  I ain’t wearing gardening gloves just to clean the oven.  Anyway, I got it all done, left it for a half hour and then attacked it with the new sponges i bought.  I seriously cannot believe how much BLACK shit came out of that oven.  No wonder it smokes so much all the time when we use it.  I rarely use it because I know cooking in there can’t be healthy for the food at ALL!  That sponge went straight in the outside bin after I’d used it – no way am I re-using that.  It was blue when I started haha.
So, hopefully, I’ll leave it maybe a week, then test it by itself, and maybe, just maybe, we’ll be able to use it for cooking purposes again.  I figure all the fumes and residue should be gone by then, especially if I heat the oven up by itself first, right?  I was amazed at all the black that came off the fan part at the back and I could actually see the silver colour it was made out of 😛
So, I guess I did do something productive today.
I’m still feeling a little bit useless and stuck in a rut, especially having to wait until December to find out if I’ve gotten into this course, and then January to start it.  Of course, once again my mind has been considering my options, such as looking for this second job so that if I get that, I can tell the first job to stop expecting me to do over double the hours I’m meant to, for what it now seems, is absolute shitty pay.  I just need to get my last week’s payslip somehow to see if I really have been paid for 35.5 hours, because it really just doesn’t addd up right in my head, and then I can jump to conclusions, in which case, if I’m right, I can get them to fix it up and I won’t complain so much anymore.  I simply don’t wanna work hours I’m not being paid for.

one of my housemates got home and was complaining that the fumes from the oven were hurting his eyes.  I said, ‘well sorry!  I need to get it done!’ – when I took my protective gear off I couldn’t really tell, only a little bit, but I did have the door closed again at that stage.

Wow, exciting entry Matt!  Cleaning stuff!

I had my laptop in the loungeroom.  I also took a few bad-quality webcam shots of myself in my get-up haha, as I do.

I’d spent a lot of the afternoon watching the Tasmanian Parliament live webstream as they debated same-sex marriage legislation in the lower house.  I was stunned to read that homosexuality was only made legal in Tasmania in 1997!  I thought, ‘That can’t be right’, but it has to be.  I thought it was more like the late 80’s.  Oh well.  Some of the speeches were so beautiful that I listened to from the MP’s down in our southern state.  I guess I have so much more respect for the state after my trip there this year.  I may not have been overseas yet, but to me, that’s as close as I’ve gotten 🙂  Crossing Bass-Strait is overseas right? 😛
But yeah, I heard the legislation passed 13-11.  It was a close one!  It’s a step and it’s a step toward the upper house.  So many constant obstacles for something that just seems, and always has seemed, so insanely normal to me.  I mean, I guess it helps that I am gay, but I would think that even if I was straight, I would still believe in equality for all citizens and wouldn’t have been too overly brainwashed by religion. 
Every argument against it in the parliament was religious-based.  The bible says this, the bible says that.  One of the ‘for’ speakers mentioned Corinthians 13:13, which is basically ‘The greatest of these is love’.  Another ‘for’ MP criticised the Leviticus verses that quoted a person who lies with one of the same sex should be put to death.  He asked the floor if that meant his lesbian-sister who is coming to visit next month should be slaughtered in front of the family?  It’s crazy what religion does to brainwash and turn something so beautiful into absolute bigotry. 
But mostly, what was saidwere beautiful things like, ‘Change for the better’, ‘Tasmania on the correct side of history’ ‘South Australia and ACT are looking for follow our footsteps as we lead the way’ and ‘Love for all’, and it was probably one of the few debates I’ve seen in parliament where there wasn’t much fighting going on.
Going on what I saw, the result should have been a landslide, but obviously just passing by two votes meant a lot of MP’s had stuck to their word to the thousands of Christians who opposed the changes in emails and letters.  But, it’s good news, so far for down south.

That’s all I have to say today.

Log in to write a note

1.. I was so happy to see you posted the pic of you in your cleaning grub. I don’t wear that kind of get up here when I clean the oven. I spray, Let it sit, wipe it down. I guess you’re more cautios that I am.. 2. I don’t understand how they can give you a different wage like that. Here you are hired at a wage, usually nights make more of course, but the only time it changes is for holidays and over time where you get more. You don’t get less because they decide to call you something different! That’s crap. I would tell them they need to leave someone with your pay stubs and you’re curious their might be a discrepency.. Dumb.. Sorry you gotta go through that.. I’m outta town this weekend for the holiday.. I will miss reading you every day!

Lil
August 30, 2012

on one hand, its exciting to see baby steps. but on the other its f*cked up that this is even up for discussion in the first place. it seems like it should be common sense, but what do i know… also “i’ve done sweet f*ck all day” is totally going in my vocabulary. and i think you should raise a stink about your payslips. thats your money! you have a right to see if it’s being paid to youproper. and.. you need heat. for your back. hot water bottle, really hot shower, heating pad.. loosen up those muscles. sounds ouch.

For some reason, it took me forever to figure out what “unco-me” meant. Thank dog for paying attention, in English class, and learning how to use context clues! Haha! I hope your back gets to feeling better. Also, your oven cleaning get-up makes it look like you were handling a biological hazard. 😛

August 30, 2012

Okay I give…what does “unco-me” mean? Ahhh the Bible. So much to say about the Bible. The sad thing is it seems to be twisted and turned into a weapon. One can prove almost ANYTHING with the Bible.

HOPE YOU HAVE A MAGICAL FRIDAY XOXOXO!!!!

August 30, 2012

It’s good … but it is a concern it was a slim margin. We saw how that ended in qld when the govt changed. I personally feel dismayed that there is even opposition and debate on the issue.

RYN: I hope it gives you hell, Matt! Haha! 😛

I would just go into work one morning and ask to see the pay slip. It is quite possible that they didn’t pay you the correct hours. Why did they make you go part-time, instead of casual? Did you have a choice? Is there some benefit to being part-time over being a casual worker?

HAPPY POTTER FRIDAY!!!! Hogwarts, Hogwarts, Hoggy Warty Hogwarts, Teach us something please, Whether we be old and bald, Or young with scabby knees!

August 31, 2012

have you tried to simply lay down on the floor to stretch ur back out that way versus every other way? and also curling up into a ball sometimes works to stretch it out too. I hope it will be getting better soon. I know how that pain is and it BITES! and i understand the dull entries, thats how mine are now too! u at least have pix to include 🙂