Create An Experience

It’s the very last day of 2007.  Can you believe it?  I figure I’d better write my final entry for the year.

I’ve been thinking a fair bit the past few days about my new year resolutions.  I’ve come up with a few lately, and two of them I’ve come up with are near impossible.

  • Hang out with my friends more (this was a resolution last year, and I’m actually pretty proud of myself.  Instead of thinking ‘oh I’m too tired or I can’t be bothered’, I went and did stuff.  Of course money issues only stopped me a few times when i was desperate to be able to afford my rent and food in time, but I usually spent it on coffee or a meal out, and the experiences I had were totally worth it.)  You’ve only got one chance at this human life on Earth, and as I’m only getting older, I figure I might as well geto ut there and do stuff because as margaret Cho says ‘Cos Heaven knows this body ain’t gunna last!’
  • I’m going to eat more healthy, and continue to go to gym.  Hard to believe I only joined in August of this year.  I think I did pretty well on this one also from last year, but yeah I could definitely do better.  In conjuction with continuing to force myself to do gym more, I should be taking up the nutritional benefits that go with that.  As I can currently slim, I need to have more calorie and carbohydrate intake, go more weights and minimal cardio.  I’m actually rather close to my weight goal of 85kg, and I think I can achieve it this year.  My last check at the gym I was 81.5, and when I started i was 79.1kg.  So I’ve put on a bag of onions there somewhere – when that becomes a bag of oranges I’ll be happy 🙂
  • Now these will be difficult.  I want to have a healthier sex life.  No, this doesn’t mean i want to be a slut, It means I want to have sex with someone else more often than i have it with myself.  I have a negative can’t-do-attitude with this one at the moment because the only way i see this happening is if I get a boyfriend or a regular fuck-buddy anytime soon, which really isn’t me – oh who am I kidding, it should be me.  So, for me to refrain from doing it if I’m home, depressed by myself is gunna be near impossible, but if I do it, it could really change a lot of experiences for what i get up to in 2008.  I thought of this quote yesterday and I want to live 2008 by it.  "Create An Experience".  This is a big goal but I feel determined to do it.
  • I want to buy my new bed.  I already know what bed i want, but working towards getting it is going to take a lot of saving, and I only want to buy it when they are having a sale.  I can’t predict when the sale will be, but if I do that it will save me a couple of hundred dollars.  I want the ‘Elison’ brand bed – it’s combined latex and is really comfortable.  Average retial is price for a queen is around $1600.  It’s on special now for around $1400, but I have seen it on sale for $1100 before, and I’ll hopefully be able to save enough in time for when it becomes that sale price again.  Once I get my new bed, I’ll be getting new satin sheets – my red and black combination, and even if I have to order online to get hte right colours (because I couldn’t last time), that’s what I’ll do.
  • I want to keep my eye out for higher-paying jobs.  I’ve been with the one company for so long now that I’ve become comfortable and realising the amount iof effort I’ve put into it, like all the skills I have and my uniforms and stuff.  I want to keep my eye open, but I’m reluctant to take on a second job because I love the free time I have.  Then I think I waste a lot of my time anyway and a second job would be cool.  It might cut down on my experiences though, which I want to make happen.
  • 2007 I’ve done very well with cutting added sugar out of my diet.  Sugar is white poison as they say.  I’m going to continue the way I am with no being tempted with added sugar.  Liek I no longer have sugar in my cups of tea and I only drink NAS Orange juice that sorta thing.  My problem is chocolate, but I realise I need some sugar to keep my levels up.  I don’t particularly want to bring diabetes upon myself if I can help it.
  • I want to do get regular health check-ups, both for my body and my sexual health.  I found out this year that both my mum and my sister have low iron levels.  I eat a fair bit of meat (*chuckles*) though.  And sometimes i feel dizzy at work when I’m working at heights.  So I want to see if that’s anything.
  • Take more photos.  Photos are memories you can bring back to the present.
  • I want to try different hairstyles, see what works for me, what doesn’t.  I’ve been amazed at the reaction to my current hair, which I only did myself.
  • I’m going to go out clubbing more, and get in before cover-charge.  Dancing releases a lot of pent up emotions and is great exercise.  I go clubbing a bit anyway, but i want to go out to the specific awesome dance parties like Big Gay Day and the Fluffy Festival and the Globes 80’s and 90’s dance parties (more specifically their 90’s parties).  I might even be staying for Mardi Gras when I’m in Sydney next year, which will be my first time ever!  Pretty excited about that.
  • Write more often here in OD.  This year I made 133 entries.  365 days in a year – is it ironic that I’ve made pretty much exactly 1/3 of the year in entries?  So that leaves 232 days I do not remember what happened.  i don’t see this as bad, not every day is exciting – I usually wrote something when i felt i wanted to specifically remember it, or read back on later on.  1/3’s pretty bad though, right?  I think it’s pretty good to average an entry every 3 days.

I’ll add to that list later.  I have plenty more I want to achieve next year!

Tonight I am going to a new years eve party in the valley.  There are a few people I know who are going, such as my housemates and also my friend, and an msn friend I haven’t met yet, some asian guy.  He seems cool.  It’ll be a house full of gay guys – how many will be there I do not know, but I know it’s gunna be a sure-fire way to end this year.  We’re going to see in the New Year, and then we are all going to go out clubbing.  I haven’t gone out at all the past few days, which has been crap cos I’ve wanted to, but I realise the prices to ge

t into clubs tonight are going to be perposterous, so I’ve saved for that instead.  Today I am going out to buy Jagermeister and red bull to make jagerbombs, which I’ve yet to try.  It’s midday – 12 hours til the new year.  i might even start drinking now 🙂

I’m looking forward to 2008.  I think 2007 was an awesome year for me.  I’m much happier in this house I’m in now, and as I become more comfortable with myself and who i want to be, hopefully the experiences will be treasured memories.

Happy New Year everybody.  Thank you for reading my diary for another year!

 

Log in to write a note
December 30, 2007

have fun tonight babe!!! have a few for me ok! don’t get too pissed though! miss you heaps hunni! (((HUGS))) *MWAH* looking forwar5d to spending more time with you in 2008! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

December 30, 2007

You are positively delightful! *hugs* Have a fun night and may the new year be everything you hope for! 🙂

December 30, 2007

i’m with you on the photos. i love them so much. your resolutions sound like they can all be achieved! good luck! xx

December 30, 2007

Happy New Year gorgeous one!!! You’ll love the jagerbombs!!! Yeow!

December 30, 2007

I prefer entries where something has actually happened or the person has something to say usually. I look forward to your entries for this reason, and I don’t see any reason to change. I probably write at a similar rate to you I think, more or less depending on what’s been happening or what’s on my mind. It is good to see all the healthy goals. I think also it’d be good to land a different

December 30, 2007

Also – thanks for reading my blog and I look forward to your notes because it’s evident that you take the time to read through every entry and say something. Have a great party!

December 31, 2007

what were the jagerbombs like? I’ve never had them before either. I got to try those Cowboy pre-made shots last night. Oh man they were good. I could have just downed a whole bunch. Though last time I did that I had far too many and lost my legs. haha! Hope you have a great ring in to 2008. 🙂 xo