Flood Photos (Part 3)

Here’s some more flood photos – moreso of what it’s like now that the water is receeding.  I’m actually still amazed at the level of it, but my rellies reckon it’s slowly receeding and the clean-up procedure is well into action.  Mum’s very happy that my brother’s got stuck out there to help her clean everything up.  She says the smell is pretty bad throughout the house.  I’ve never ever seen water through the house the entire time I lived there from age 9 through to 18.  I sure have now.  Kinda sucks I wasn’t there for it, but I’m glad I got out back to Brisbane, otherwise I wouldn’t be being paid!

Anyway, here’s more photos

These are the silos I used to sit on to see all the water in the distance.  My nephew and nieces have called this ‘Hooch Island’ as it’s the only dry land where the dog can go haha!

This is a shot taken from the front yard of the house looking towards dad’s machinery shed.  I’m amazed it’s all still under.  Jesus that water must’ve gotten high. Mum’s garden will be green for a while haha.

Love the aerial-view shots.  You can see my family’s farm is the building and shed to the very left of the photo.  The twin concrete silos in the middle are alongside the highway – it’s there somewhere lol.

This shot is of the river that’s caused all of this mess!  The good old Condamine River has certainly broken it’s banks.

Log in to write a note

definitely an up side to living in Melbourne, we don’t get those sorts of floods! They do in the country but nowhere near as much as QLD. xxx

December 29, 2010

Whoa. That sucks.

December 29, 2010

The photos are amazing. I went back to your previous entries and looked at the others. Wil

December 29, 2010

RYN: That’s the reason they invented email silly. =)

Whoa! Thats some serious flooding! I hope it goes away soon and your family can get their lives back to normal. ryn: Unfortunately, yes. But it seems to get worse as she gets older. She’s like some batty character from a sitcom or something.

I thought it was still rising? Omg I don’t know I’m getting my info from triple j lol.

December 29, 2010

big time flooding!!!! RE: aw shucks, thank you

December 29, 2010

none of those photos came up for me…hmmm…strange

December 30, 2010

Gosh I completely forgot you lived up there. So giving my best wishes to your family and everyone suffering the effects. It’s crazy! I guess it’s something you expect when you live in the north-east, but it’s still quite devastating to see those photos =(

*Laughs* Exactly. Internet anonymity only goes so far.

December 30, 2010

What a HUGE flood! wow… Funny how they have to drive to that little patch of grass for the dog to go! haha :^)

December 30, 2010

That happened in my home town in like 96, it was nuts!

December 30, 2010

That’s insane!! It’s like, Biblical proportions insane! I remember New Orleans, right after Hurricane Katrina looked exactly like that. Thank goodness your family’s all okay though–still kinda bummed that you had to spend your vacay in a flood zone. RYN: Yeah, it’s kind of a very old-fashionedish word for sky–people should use it more often. 🙂

December 31, 2010

I’m from the UK but I live in Germany. And yeah, spent christmas in Australia 🙂 xx