The emotional expression of a spoon

(If you’re sick of reading this feel free to skip to the next diarist in your bookmarks – I know I would be, but I need, NEED to clear my head and this is where I do so.) 

The free-and-easy way of life is SO much easier than this!!  AGGHHH I feel like I’m going insane.  Still no text or anything from him and all I want is confirmation that everything is okay, or even not okay!  Seriously, this being expected to read somebody’s mind thing really does my head in.  I think it’s compounded by when I was chatting to a mutual friend of my crush and I, he asked if I was exclusive with him.  I had to think for a while and then realised that yeah I was.  I like him enough to be exclusive with him.  I see him on the facebook chat pictures on the side of the page but he doesn’t talk to me, and he always, ALWAYS did in the past. 

Having not been on a date, I think EVER in my life, it was a daunting experience.  I realised I truly haven’t been on a proper one.  I’ve had boyfriends, but every boyfriend I’ve had, I’ve never had to date or court or woo or whatever you wanna call it.  I actually felt I did alright with organising this.  I knew his braces condition, I thought about where we could eat to lessen his pain in eating, I even booked the restaurant, even though it was near empty when we got there, so I really didn’t need to, but I was taking precautions.  So, I actually felt out of my comfort zone even organising it!  I felt like I did well – dinner, icecream, movies, picking him up from his PARENTS house and his mum answering the door was pretty scary, although I had met her once before and she’s lovely, and paying for dinner and the movies and dropping him home afterwards.  We held hands in the cinema and kissed for a little while when he got home.  He said he hoped we could hang out sooner next time (here’s hoping THAT was true).  It all seemed to go really well, up until the kiss happened.  I don’t know if I stuffed it up by trying to use a little bit of tongue and it hurt him, or if he was just in pain, but to me it just seemed very short.  I’d turned my lights off and it was dark so I doubt he would’ve felt uncomfortable if someone was watching from the window or something.  I guess me sending a text the next morning, thanking him for the hanging out and the kiss, was too much for him?  And I wrong in thinking like I am?  Did I have bad breath from the dinner/icecream earlier on?  i really hope not 🙁  I… I want him to like me as much as I like him right now.  And, it’s just not happening, or it doesn’t feel like it.  But then again he’s given no indication that things are bad or good, but feeling like I’m being ignored isn’t a good feeling for me, especially after how happy I was having seen him on Sunday night.  I fell asleep smiling on Sunday night, and I slept during the night.  I remember waking up at 6am on Monday and I sent him the thanks text at around 8am, so he should’ve been awake by then.  But no reply?  I don’t even know if he had a good time!  I don’t even know if he’s lost all interest altogether.  I don’t even know if he’s got five or six other guys on the sidelines besides me.  Is this how serial date-ists behave (if he is one)?  …Leave their options open and don’t give any leads on where things are headed with any of the potential ‘partners’?
Then I have to keep referring to what a lot of people say about him – that’s just what he’s like.  Matt actually said he has ‘The emotional expression of a spoon’.  So why was there so much expression during the date?  Him snaking his hand to hold mine through the seat divider at the movies, his body against mine during the movie, almost like he was trying to snuggle in, and the kiss at the end of the night.

I actually think I’m doing well.   As in, outside of what I’m writing here where I’m clearly going insane in my head, I think on the outside I’m trying to remain relatively cool.  I’m not hounding him with texts or calls or emails or facebooks or whatever.  I’m not outside his house throwing pebbles at his window-sill.  He always said he has/had stalkers in his life and I most certainly am not and do not want to fit into that catagory.

The only real disasterous part of the date was my car, being absolutely covered in bird shit.  I don’t mean some bird shit, I mean they literally all went ‘One….Two….Three…. DUMP’ and all took a massive release onto my car from the trees above.  And I turned up at his parents house and drove around in that.  Maybe that’s all it took to destroy my chances.  All because no carwashes exist.  Or maybe like my friend and some of you here said, he wouldn’t have cared about that.

I’m finding myself backtracing my steps and trying to see if I majorly fucked up anywhere.  Because I’m not very good at dating.

I’m still focusing on the good time I, (we), had.  To me, it was the most serene moment I’ve felt in weeks, with so much work on and this fighting with Jeff, just those few hours with him seemed like another planet for a while.

It’s like my friend said to me, "Don’t blow it or you won’t get to blow it".  lol.

I don’t want to settle for someone less than what I think I’m worth again, as in I mean I don’t want another guy chasing me who I am clearly not attracted to whatsoever.  THAT has happened to me FAR too often and I’m the one who feels bad for not returning the feelings.  I’ve been there, done that, realised it was the worst possible situation to be in and that I will never do it again.  So, after so many years, I finally, finally meet someone whom I have feelings for, or at least could feel I could develop feelings for.  And I’m the one who feels rejected.  I just don’t know if I have the red light or the green one yet.

Where’s the happy medium?  Where’s the equal-attractiveness-guy for me?  Maybe this is like ‘She’s out of my league’ where I’m a 7 and my crush is a 9, and I need some big things in my life to push it up to even, like be a doctor or a vet or a tradie or something lol.  Because if this guy is leading me on and giving me false hope, then I think it could hurt our friendship as well.  Maybe.  But then I remember him talking about how it was weird for him to kiss his friend and I was thinking ‘but aren’t we friends?’ and he’s kissed me before.  So I hope that whole stupid rule or not getting with your friend’s wasn’t on his mind, because I see him as a friend and more than a friend, and I don’t see anything abnormal about feeling that way.

Maybe there’s a much needed, major life lesson to be learned from this. 

Or I’m still too eager too soon.  Is knowing nothing better than not knowing at all?  Part of me wants to text him and plain out ask if I’m wasting my time.  Because with each day that passes and my mind wondering what game he’s playing at, it’s driving me pretty mental.  I thought I left all the mind reading stuff out of the game back in my early 20’s.  I turn 27 this Saturday. TWENTY-SEVEN.  That’s so depressing even writing the number makes me feel ill.

I’m still trying to decide if I wanna go to Wet N Wild on Friday or Saturday.  Friday means less people will come because they have work etc.  Saturday means I’LL get no sleep whatsoever because I’m rostered on to work the night of my birthday, which is the said Saturday.  So for me, Friday would be much better.  If I think of my friends, I have to sacrifice my sleep for the sake of them, and in this day and age I’m rather sick of doing that.  I’ve done it my whole life pretty much, work myself around to fit in with everyone else.  I’m still very self-conscious about my marks on my back as the redness is still quite noticeable, so being shirtless at Wet N Wild would be very daunting for me.  And if I go on Friday it might just be my friend Matt and I going.  if I go Saturday it’ll be my other friend Matt as well cos he doesn’t have to work.  So three Matt’s at a theme park haha.  He said he’ll try to get it off, but probably won’t be able to.  That Matt wants to hang out Friday so that’d be cool cos he’s a lot of fun, and then he could drive down on the Saturday.  Hmmm, Friday or Saturday.  Saturday will also mean a lot more people, and a lot more hopefully hot guys to check out (hello, water park in the Aussie Summer!  wink wink!)

I just want an outright answer.  And it may have to come from me asking him directly if I’m wasting my time or not.

Must get through work tonight, ergh kinda over that place, it’s become like my second home the last two weeks.  Oh well three nights off after that, thankfully!  Much needed.

Oh and Jeff can still go to hell.  Thinknig about THAT isn’t helping my stress levels either.  I still wanna shove him down a flight of stairs.  WHY CAN’T THE GOD DAMN WORLD BE NORMAL!!!!!!?

Log in to write a note
November 29, 2010

i think you should outright ask him if he likes you like you like him… or ask him if he wants to date exclusive. be FRANK about it. maybe invite him to be your date for your birthday thing?!? that would be hot! DO IT! and go which ever day will allow you to have more fun with him being your date if it would work out.. and if he cannot make it, then go which ever day allows u to have fun w/ pals

November 29, 2010

I think you should ask him outright too. At least it stops all the ramblings in your head and allows you to either get over it and move on or move forward into something more with him. Hope you have an awesome birthday! xx

November 29, 2010

I’m with [sicksadworld] and [Rerrin]. No more game playing, just ‘do you like me, or am I wasting my time?’

November 29, 2010

=( I hate when people play the game of being interested in you, then at one moment it all just stops. Maybe you can try to ask him to be honest and just answer to which extent does he feel for you? (though in my experience it does not lead to much) Mental games like this are sad for both the players and playees. I wish you luck, no matter the outcome. PS. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! =)

November 29, 2010

PPS. I fixed up my comment stuff, so you can leave a private note if you still want the card (which I’d love to send you =) )

Awww maybe his teeth are hurting and he took pain pills and have been asleep dreaming about you? RYN:meh glad I am not a gut if I was I still shave everything..

Freakin Jeff!! I agree, you deserve an outright answer!! SickSadWorld has good, sage advice xxxx

I don’t think you can say you’re not good at dating. For being out of your comfort zone, it seems like you organized it perfectly. Seriously it sounds like a great date from start to finish. I wish I could have something like that. I hope you get word from him soon. It doesn’t make sense to me what the deal is, but hey it would be his loss if he’s not interested.

November 30, 2010

Oh man I hate waiting. Hours can seem like years. Keep in realistic check if the time period you’ve been waiting is TRULY the amount of time you’d usually wait, or if it just SEEMS longer because you feel like you are awaiting confirmation of something. If it truly is a longer wait time, bite the bullet. Send him a text if it’s easiest and just say something like, (continued)

November 30, 2010

“I’m going to be honest. I haven’t really been on a date in a very long time. I tried so hard to make everything great and I had a wonderful time. I just wanted to make sure that you had a great time as well? When can I see you again?” Yes or no questions are easy to get no response out of , but a pin-pointed question starting with when, why or how are more likely to get an answer. Good luck!!!!!

November 30, 2010

OH! Another thing to think about. If he’s said he’s had stalkers in his life. I’d take that as meaning he always takes a while to respond 😉

November 30, 2010

I’m gonna say don’t ask him. People process things at different speeds, and instead of asking that question, I’d ask “Do you wanna hang out on my birthday?” That’ll answer your question without asking it. Just because he doesn’t respond doesn’t mean he isn’t interested, it might mean he doesn’t feel the need to respond.

November 30, 2010

Ahhh, that feeling is the worst! It just sucks to be on this side of the equation the “wait and see and hope and go crazy” side. I don’t miss being there at all. I hope you hear from him, one way or the other. good luck! ryn: thank you 😉

November 30, 2010

This whole entry reeks of over-thinking things. You are so much better than that! Instead of being point-blank about it, you might ask him if he wants to hang out again sometime in the next week or so. I don’t think asking him to hang out on your birthday is a good thing–there’s too much pressure put on him, and the day is about you–not getting to know each other. The important thing is that

November 30, 2010

while you have a crush on him and want to be all about him for however long you hang out, it needs to be all about the both of you getting to know each other better. The very worst thing is that he’s not interested at all, but I hardly think that’s the case. Some people just need more time to process emotional/physical things than others. You are wonderful, and if he can’t see that, well…

November 30, 2010

I think it’s obvious that you really like him by how much you have over thought this! lol… I agree with the people that think you should just ask him! It would save so much stress.. even if it is really embarrassing lol

November 30, 2010

Oh and I used to have braces, so trust me when I say you didn’t hurt him by kissing him haha! It aches for a few days after you get them put in but kissing never bothered me, it only really hurts when you chew and stuff so don’t worry 🙂

November 30, 2010

I have been in your position. And here is my opinion: run as fast as you can. If you’re uncomfortable with the lack of communication NOW it will NOT get any better as time goes on. I went through emotional hell with one guy and I always thought the time I got with him was worth it, but it wasn’t. Wait for someone who meets your needs emotionally from the beginning. Sorry if this is harsh but you

November 30, 2010

Are a sweet guy and I wouldn’t want you getting hurt.

November 30, 2010

it is sooo worth it to ask! seriously. one of my biggest regrets with the whole kirk thing is letting it drag out over years of uncertainity. ask him if he wants to hang out again. 🙂 xo

November 30, 2010

Good luck! I hope things work out! Its the worst having no clue!

December 12, 2010

Damn, you are so sweet to make that whole date. Maybe he is feeling unworthy. If he lives at home and you had to pick him up, maybe he sees how much independence you have and is intimidated by it.

RYN: Well I don’t have that gene and I’m STILL a huge whore 😛