New Member!

Hi everyone 🙂

I have been super into reading lately, so I decided to join this group to hopefully get some great book recommendations as well as to participate in some book discussions!

I just finished “It Ends With Us” by Colleen Hoover. Wow. I honestly was not prepared for what this book entailed. The writing was beautiful and I could not put the book down, but as I was reading, my heart was breaking. It was such a beautifully tragic novel that was so deep and moving. I found myself really emotional, although I would not necessarily say the book itself was sad, rather it is a book that is empowering and demonstrates finding strength in the toughest situations. I would definitely put this on my must-read list for others.

To be honest, I am a hopeless romantic so I am super into romance novels. I also enjoy reading different fiction books, and I will throw in a good biography every once in a while. My all-time favorite book is “The Great Gatsby.” I think this novel was so captivating and it transformed you into an entirely new world where everything seemed so magical and perfect. Not only is the plot great, but the writing is so elegant and there are so many takeaways to gain from this story.

PLEASE let me know what you are reading or some books that you all deem as must-reads!

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2022

Welcome to the bibliophiles’ club! It’s so fun to go through a big reading phase. I’m in one too, and it’s the best feeling.

I am a fellow lover of “The Great Gatsby!” I had to read it for my AP Lang class in high school and it captivated me too. I’ve heard that a prequel, called “Nick,” is good too, and I’m planning on reading it soon!

I’ve never read “It Ends With Us” but I’ve read a few other books by Colleen Hoover. I read the “Slammed” series a few years ago. She’s so good at pulling you in and sparking high emotions! Her books are a whole experience.

Speaking of romance, I’ve been meaning to find a book that compiles F. Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald’s letters. They are apparently so romantic. I’ve read some reviews, excerpts, etc. and I’m already kind of obsessed.

I’ve actually been trying to read more biographies, memoirs, etc. lately. I want to try to input a little bit of nonfiction into my reading diet. Any recs? I’d appreciate it!

March 30, 2022

@booklover613 Thanks for reaching out 🙂

I’ll definitely have to check out “Nick,” and the love letters seem super interesting and romantic!

I totally agree that nonfiction is the best to read, but it’s good to add some nonfiction into the mix!

As for nonfiction, I don’t know if you have read “I am Malala,” but I would totally recommend it. I’m also super into baseball and I have always been very fond of Jackie Robinson so I really enjoyed “42 Faith: The Rest of the Jackie Robinson Story” by Ed Henry. Last semester, I had to read “She Said” for one of my journalism classes, and it was really good. Next on my list of biographies is Michelle Obama’s book “Becoming.” I have heard really good things about the book and I’m excited to read it!

March 30, 2022

@klczech10 Appreciate it! I will definitely check those out, they all sound interesting (I’m into baseball as well… go Cards!).

I love talking books with people. Seriously. Don’t hesitate to reach out about any current books you’re reading!

April 5, 2022

@booklover613

Oh no, I’m a Twins fan…just kidding I love that you’re into baseball!

Also, I love talking about books too, and giving and receiving recommendations! Do you have the app Good Reads? It’s one of my favorite apps to use with my friends who are also into reading so we can share book recommendations and reviews.

If you have the app we should become friends, and if you don’t you should totally get it 🙂

April 5, 2022

@klczech10 yes, I love Goodreads! I use it to keep track of all my books. Here’s my profile if you want to be friends: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/41386862-audrey-lehmann.

April 10, 2022

@booklover613 Perfect yay, I just added you!