I Wish I Could Focus On Fun Things Instead of Work!

I got the workaholic gene from my Dad! My kids have it also. I guess I could have gotten something worse but it sure makes it difficult to calm down and just have fun! And hubby is just the opposite. He does everything he can to avoid work, at home anyway. So we fit fairly well together.

My last transport lasted two days and we picked up 3 people. A male and female from 150 miles away and another male, 100 miles away from the first stop. The first two were from the mental hospital and we could tell that there meds both started wearing off about the same time. But neither one got rowdy. The other one was a “frequent flyer” criminal. He has been in and out of jail for years. But not since 2014. Sorry to see him pick up where he left off.

I had Children’s Church for the month of August and it went pretty well. The only glitch was when my partner couldn’t be there the last Sunday and my stand in didn’t show up either. But one of the older kids came down and helped me and it went well. I have Nursey Duty this month. Greeter in December, teach Sunday School in March and then Greeter again in April. I really love this church! We had Baptism at the local lake last Sunday after church, hotdogs after that and then movies and popcorn in the evening. The adults watched I Can Only Imagine in the sanctuary and the kids watched a kiddie movie in the fellowship hall.  I noticed a couple ladies in the pew doing something about halfway through the movie that I thought I was the only one that did it. They both put books down on the floor to put their feet on to relieve back pain. I always take a large telephone book when I go to stadiums for  the same reason.  Public seating isn’t made for short people!

As you can see I am stretching for something to write about. My life is work and church. Oh well, I can’t complain. (But I probably will, lol!)

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 3, 2018

Work is good for the soul. I’m a firm believer in it.

September 7, 2018

I’ve never seen anyone doing that with a book…pretty good idea though for us shorter people.

September 8, 2018

Do you plan on continuing to work, or are you going to retire anytime soon?

 

September 12, 2018

@dlk082244 I won’t retire until Don does.  I am the only other transport deputy and I don’t like him going on long transports alone. We have another 15-16 hour transport tomorrow and another one Monday.