Time Flies…..

whether you are having fun or not! However, for the most part I have been having fun!

I can’t believe it’s been 9 days since I made an entry. Last week I was in kind of a funk most of the week because the weather was so crazy. Snow, ice, sleet, rain, everything but spring! I normally help at the Preschool Tuesday and Thursday but didn’t feel well Tuesday and wasn’t sure what it was. The last thing I wanted to do was to be contagious and give it to the teacher or the kids. It turned out to be sinus instead of a cold or the flu.

I didn’t do much Wednesday either but helped at the Preschool on Thursday. They are getting ready for the Church Art Sale. The kids were sweet, funny little whirlwinds as usual. We did have a little aggrevation but it was from adults rather than kids. One of them is a former teacher. She looked at the art work that the kids had done so far and made the comment “Who will want to buy any of that stuff?” That comment was just mean and hurtful, especially since it was said in front of the kids! Hand over mouth to keep from saying something I would regret. I would give anything to be able to buy some of my boys artwork! I lost it all in the fire and it broke my heart. Not only that but the teacher had them do some really great pictures. Two of them were on canvas, one was two dandelions that had gone to seed, using the kids fingerprints as dandelion fuzzy seeds. The other ones were the cutest bunnies!! I would buy either one in a heartbeat.  The other adult looked at the dandelions and started criticizing them. She thought they should be more colorful. Seeding dandelion fuzz is white, not multicolored. The background was painted teal, the stems green with a brown top. They looked real.

I was a little anxious about Sunday. I had asked Don to attend church while Pastor Jeff was doing the marriage series. He said he would but I had my doubts. But he did! During the sermon he took my hand. He never does that!! Then I heard him tell the Pastor afterward that he would be there this Sunday to hear the next in the series! He also took me out to dinner afterward. I think Pastor got through to him!

I’m watching Gaslight on TCM right now. I first saw that movie when I was young. I think it was made in 1945. I remember being amazed that anyone would be so cruel as to make someone think they were going crazy!

I cleaned, rearranged and decluttered the upstairs office today. So much stuff, so little room!

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
April 10, 2018

That must be the reason it’s called gaslighting. Or maybe not. But I totally understand it. After I got out, I read an article about gaslighting and realized that’s what Thorn did to me, whether intentionally or not. Mostly I think not; he just didn’t want to accept responsibility for his own actions, so he twisted his sense of reality to make it look like I was the bad guy because he couldn’t face his own faults. Either way, it made me feel like I was crazy.

Don’t be surprised if those germ-laden little kiddos bring some sickness to you. Everybody I’ve ever known who spent time around kids was sick all the time for the first 3-4 years. Hope you don’t!

April 10, 2018

I once took an adult painting class and there were a few children in attendance. I made a statement to the instructor and this is what I said:  “I just can’t paint.  I paint like a child.”  How thoughtless of me!  How horrible for me to say that in front of the children in the class.  I was not well then so I am forgiving of myself but I’ll always regret saying what I said in front of the children.  I love children’s artwork.  It’s beautiful!

April 11, 2018

Wow…talk about letting your mouth overrun itself…what a comment indeed!   :/

April 16, 2018

I watched Gaslight for the first time on my honeymoon LOL. That was 34 years ago and we’re still together, happy 😉

April 17, 2018

It sounds like your preacher must have a pretty good message.  Hope it works out well for yo.

April 18, 2018

Sounds like a good thing that Don is willing to attend with you.