Too Long Gone

One of my dear friends noted that I hadn’t made an entry for awhile and wanted to make sure I was ok. Such a kind and considerate friend! 💓

I am doing ok. As expected, the ups and downs of life are still around. I got through the Family Reunion. However, it took a good few days to recuperate. Then the gardening and lawn work started. That is, until the heat decided to soar. Neither one of us got out of the house all week. I didn’t want to even think of getting out in the heat to get in a even hotter car. To make it worse, our city workers decided to do some work on the electrical equipment on one of the hottest nights of the year (106-108 degrees) and turn off the electricity for 4 hours. I ended up sleeping on the kitchen floor because the tile was the coolest place in the house. I did the same 3 nights this week. Our house is 109 years old and the only A/C we have are window units. I won’t go into detail because it will just get my BP up again but sleeping on the floor during the sweltering heat seemed to be the only option.

This heat has been wearing on Don with his health condition and we have both been a bit on the cranky side! Thankfully it’s only in the 90’s today.

I am still struggling with trying to get my head and heart right with my sister-in-law. My brother has only been gone 7 months. Even though I had to grit my teeth (I might as well admit to it!) I sent SIL a birthday card, devotional book and money for her birthday on June 11th. I haven’t heard a word from her for about 3 months. She has now blocked me on Facebook. I have been very careful to keep my thoughts to myself other than with hubby and my grandson who lives across the street from SIL. He has known, as have I, for several months that something was going on. On the first Father’s Day that her 5 kids were without their father, SIL and her boyfriend announced, in church, that they are getting married. Her children didn’t know beforehand. I’m not sure if they even knew she had a BF.

I have cancelled my trip to Alaska. With Don’s health issues I just don’t feel comfortable going that far away and he refuses to come with me. It was tough, I hate to disappoint my son another year but will send them $500 to either come back to Kansas for a visit or give it to one of the kids to come see them.

This is getting long and my laptop is heating up the place so I need to sign off. I hope all of you are doing well……………….❤

Log in to write a note
July 1, 2018

I know that you tried to have good relationship with your SIL in the past before your brother died, but it seems that she has always been a thorn in your side, so this should not come as any big surprise. At least this time, her antics are being experienced by more than one person. She’s going to alienate everybody before she’s done!

July 1, 2018

I’m sorry you cancelled your trip.  Hope you can make it up very soon.  I do understand staying by your spouse due to health problems.  Arlen has been so good to stay by me.  I’m hoping the hip replacement will make me a more self sufficient and mobile person.

July 2, 2018

I lost my sister 3 years ago. She was only 46. Left behind 5 young kids. My BIL is a difficult person. At times I and my other siblings have just wanted to throttle him. But we are still linked by the children and I have done my best to keep peace with him. We are much doing better at this point. I hope it gets better for you and your family.

~peace

July 14, 2018

I am sorry to hear that Don’s health hasn’t gotten better…such a shame you can’t both go on the trip to Alaska… HUGS…

Really sorry to hear about your SIL…she’s been thru much and such a shame she has chosen not to lean a little on someone like you to help her get thru.    🙁