Work

It’s been a nice couple days off work. Well, technically I worked yesterday. I am the manager of one of those watch kiosks at the mall, where we change batteries and fix watches and stuff like that. I really like this job because I’m introverted, but also have a strong drive to be good at what I do. So I get plenty of exposure to humans. Sometimes it’s too much, and I get home and am just emotionally drained from being there for everyone all day. Overall, I think it’s good for me though.

Yesterday I had to facilitate a meeting with my crew. The holidays are upon us. Santa is at the mall taking pictures already. Some stores are playing Christmas music. Ugh. The holidays are not my favorite time. It is kind of a fun challenge to get through them, though.

I officially instated this one guy as Assistant Manager recently. I really didn’t want to…. I like him as a person, but as his boss lemme tell you he leaves a bit to be desired. He’s honorable and trustworthy though, and I guess those are the most important. He is just a little derpy sometimes, and in a fast-paced retail environment, he just stands there staring into the void sometimes. He gets a little too worked up about some things, too. At the meeting, like normal, he derailed my planned talking points. It’s perfectly fine to ask questions and provide anecdotes, but I had to steer us back on topic a few times. We didn’t get through everything I wanted to talk about before it was time to leave. Sigh. But we were pretty close.

I like the team I’ve assembled though.

We’ve got:
honorable/derpy orcish barbarian dude
tiny kinda awkward magic healing fairy girl
very tall young smart, hard on herself nerdy wanna be edgy girl… sorceress?
a short pudgy guy who is great with puns and wants to sit and browse reddit… definitely a dwarven bard
and a tall, smart country girl… she would be like an elven ranger/warrior

and then there’s me. It’s hardest for me to evaluate myself but I would probably say elven wizard. I arrange all the things, might have the highest charisma of the group, certainly have the best reputation, best sales, always gotta tell everybody what to do.

That’s the part I like least about my job… the telling people what to do part. I would much rather have someone else take care of that part and take on more of a supportive role. I’m pretty much responsible for my team and their actions. Really, that hasn’t been an actual issue, though. I just don’t like it much.

But, it’s nice to get paid. I don’t require another adult in order to live under a roof! Yay!!! I just keep getting paid more and more, too! Don’t get me wrong, it’s still not a lot. It’s been months since I’ve been completely out of money though. Slowly moving away from the living paycheck to paycheck lifestyle.

This job is nice because I can bring my children to work! I don’t do it often, I don’t want to abuse my power here and have anyone complain, but I totally can if I need to. I make the schedule too!! Of course I have guidelines to follow, certain people need certain numbers of hours per week (including me), but I can easily schedule around my kids school activities and doctor visits without being hella needy to my boss, because it’s almost like I’m my own boss! I’m not really, I do have a district manager, but I am also very lucky to have such a nice, laid back one who is knowledgeable and helpful, but pretty much doesn’t care about the particulars as long as objectives are met!

I do often feel like it’s not a real job though. Or a career. I feel like I’ve made it to the top already, and if so, it’s not much of a top, let me tell you. I work in the freakin mall. I want benefits where I don’t have to pay half of my earnings just to get them. I do get paid time off, which mostly I really just don’t know what to do with.

I do enjoy doing things with my hands, though. Fixing things is great. I love how someone brings me a thing of theirs and then I give it back to them, but better!! I know there’s probably more money in management, but I’d like to be in some sort of a lab, making magic happen.

I’d love to go back to school, but fear it immensely too. I already feel like a full time job keeps me away from the kids too much. I would have to not work at all to spend time with them. I do not have the support network they need to grow up right without me there. Maybe my oldest and I can go to college together. hahahaha I’m pretty sure he’d hate that, but hey it would make homework easier, yes?

 

Log in to write a note