Expectations

Losing this job after four weeks has helped me further realize what my expectations are for myself; my interactions with my husband; my interactions with my boyfriend; time management; and caring what others think of my choices on how to proceed, or the lack of caring.

Earlier this year Andrew’s mom had invested in a business of servicing ATM machines with Andrew’s brother-in-law, she wanted to have us handle things up here in Portland as much as we could, and she’d pay us for it. Needless to say, unless you truly have every little detail set in stone in a contract, you’re going to have trouble. Especially dealing with family and business. To make a long story short, our boundaries were pushed one too many times and we told him where to go and how to get there. Considering he was not our boss in this venture and Andrew’s mother was, we feel no guilt over this. It has however, caused Andrew’s mom to be extremely passive aggressive in her anger towards the situation and us, hence the conversation and judgmental bullshit a few nights ago.

Where this is headed is that right around when this all started back in February, we’d really started motivating ourselves to get our crafting/photography business up and running. His mother has always been very pessimistic about this thought and has tried to encourage us not to, and when she all but bullied us into helping with this venture to begin with that got pushed to the wayside. We have decided that we will be pressing full bore ahead again to get this up and running.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll be still searching for part time work so I can help keep a roof over our heads. I feel that this is the right choice for both of us though. Especially if I end up getting early disability.

Log in to write a note